ALA Council

 View Only
last person joined: one month ago 

2022 Virtual August Council Meeting!

  • 1.  2022 Virtual August Council Meeting!

    Posted 10 days ago

    Hello Councilors,

    ALA President, Lessa Pelayo-Lozada has called for a special Council Meeting. The ALA Council will meet virtually on Friday, August 26th at 12-1pm Central time.

    Per ALA Parliamentarian, Adrian Stratton, the purpose of this special meeting is to satisfy a procedural step to rescind the American Library Association Constitution. In accordance with Constitution Article XII (Amendments), Section 1, two (2) votes of the Council followed by a ratification by the ALA membership is necessary to amend the constitution. In my opinion, this meeting fulfills the requirements of this section in support of the approved direction by Council during the Annual Conference meeting. Rescinding a document is a form of amendment so it is appropriate to follow this process in parallel to the process to revise the bylaws.

    2022 Virtual August Council Meeting
    Registration Link:
    https://ala-events.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_sXTRUPYzRbOrStHYPSkEXQ    
    Date: Friday, August 26th, 2022
    Time:
    8:00 AM-9:00 AM Hawaii Time / 9:00 AM-10:00 AM Alaska Time / 10:00 AM-11:00 AM Pacific Time / 11:00 AM-12:00 PM Mountain Time / 12:00 PM-1:00 PM Central Time / 1:00 PM-2:00 PM Eastern Time

    Eligible Councilors will receive a separate e-mail containing their voting credentials. Council agenda and documents can be found on the ALA Council Website.

    For questions, please contact the ALA Governance Office governance@ala.org



    ------------------------------
    Marsha P. Burgess
    Council Secretariat
    American Library Association
    mburgess@ala.org
    (312) 280-3204
    ------------------------------