Home

Find your niche.
Groups, discussions, and networks

Engage

Enhance your skills.
Online education and resources

Learn

Share your expertise.
Ways to give back and volunteer

Grow

Latest Discussions

  • No data found
  • United for Libraries News

    • The American Library Association (ALA) announced today the names of 10 library and information professionals selected to participate in the 2019 ALA Policy Corps, which aims to develop a cadre of experts with deep and sustained knowledge of national public policies in areas key to ALA’s strategic goals.
    • A free “United for Libraries Institute: Friends, Foundations, and Trustees” will be held Saturday, January 26, 11:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at Seattle Central Library’s Microsoft Auditorium at the 2019 ALA Midwinter Meeting in Seattle. Library Trustees, Friends groups, Foundations, and library staff are invited to join a free afternoon of learning opportunities. Jan Masaoka, chief executive officer of the California Association of Nonprofits, will deliver the keynote: “Be Passionate About Your Library! Creating and Developing Effective Advocates for Your Library.”
    • BRYN MAWR, Pennsylvania — Wayétu Moore, Juliet Grames, Chris Pavone, Clare Mackintosh, Annie Ward, and G. Willow Wilson will be the featured authors at the United for Libraries Gala Author Tea, sponsored by ReferenceUSA, from 2-4 p.m. on Sun., Jan. 27 at the 2019 ALA Midwinter Meeting in Seattle.

    District Dispatch

    • This guest post by Grow with Google Vice President Lisa Gevelber originally appeared in Googles blog The Keyword. Since we launched Grow with Google a little over a year ago, we’ve traveled to cities and towns, partnering with local organizations from Kansas to Michigan to South Carolina to bring job skills to job seekers and online savvy to small Continue readingGrow with Google is coming to a library near you The post Grow with Google is coming to a library near you appeared first on District Dispatch .
    • This is a guest post provided by Nayeli Pelayo, Outreach Manager for the Fair Elections Center. On Election Day, its too late to change unfair and burdensome voting rules. But we can work together to ensure the rules are clearly explained and accurately applied. Fair Elections Center is encouraging libraries Continue readingEncouraging library patrons to participate in democracy through being poll workers The post Encouraging library patrons to participate in democracy through being poll workers appeared first on District Dispatch .
    • Late on September 13 the House and Senate Appropriations Committees released a conference committee report on fiscal year 2019 funding for programs under the Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Subcommittee—which controls spending levels for many federal library programs—and the Defense Subcommittee. The news is good: The conference committee Continue readingSubcommittee calls for FY2019 library funding increases The post Subcommittee calls for FY2019 library funding increases appeared first on District Dispatch .

    Book Club Central

    • Annie Bostrom, associate editor in Adult Books at Booklist, interviewed Sarah Smarsh about her book Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth​ (2018), the sixth Sarah Jessica Parker Pick for Book Club Central. In Heartland, Smarsh recalls her Kansas youth while compiling her families’ histories and turning a journalist’s eye The post SJP Pick Interview: Sarah Smarsh appeared first on ALA Book Club Central .
    • By Annie Bostrom As a journalist, Sarah Smarsh, a “fifth-generation Kansas farm kid,” has reported on class, rural America, and economic inequality. In her memoir, Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth, the first nonfiction SJP pick, Smarsh recalls her 1980s Midwestern upbringing and relays the stories The post SJP Read-Alikes: Heartland by Sarah Smarsh appeared first on ALA Book Club Central .
    • Join Carnegie Selection Committee members Annie Bostrom and Susan Maguire along with Booklist Adult Books Editor Donna Seaman for this free, hour-long conversation about the six books shortlisted for the 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction (Francisco Cantú’s The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border, Kiese Laymon’s Heavy: An American Memoir, The post Register for Booklists Presenting the 2019 Carnegie Shortlist Webinar appeared first on ALA Book Club Central .