Digital Badges Interest Group

 View Only
last person joined: 21 days ago 

Charge: A forum for discussion and the exchange of ideas related to digital badges, particularly as they relate to libraries (of all types) and information literacy.
Community members can post as a new Discussion or email ALA-acrldbig@ConnectedCommunity.org
Before you post: please note job postings are prohibited on ALA Connect. Please see the Code of Conduct for more information.

Upcoming Virtual Program 11/30: "The Badge Is Half the Battle: Digital Badging as Training Motivation"

  • 1.  Upcoming Virtual Program 11/30: "The Badge Is Half the Battle: Digital Badging as Training Motivation"

    Posted Nov 22, 2022 07:33 AM

    ACRL Digital Badge Interest Group (DBIG) Fall Virtual Program

    November 30 @ 1 pm ET/12 pm CT/11 am MT/10 am PT

    "The Badge Is Half the Battle: Digital Badging as Training Motivation."
    Presented by Jennifer Wright

    Program Description: This session will focus on the practical side of implementing and assessing two types of badging programs in a public library. While digital badges and microcredentials have generated much discussion, research and practical advice for library training programs remains minimal. This presentation will outline real-world experiences and findings related to staff training motivation and will discuss honestly the challenges and limitations of badging programs for library staff.

    Speaker Bio: Jennifer Wright is the Assistant County Librarian of Public Services with the Spartanburg County Public Libraries (SCPL) in South Carolina. She previously held the title of Director of Planning & Training at SCPL and, prior to moving into public libraries, was the director of a small university library. She holds an MLIS from the University of South Carolina and an MS in Management and Leadership from Western Governors University, and is currently a doctoral candidate in Professional Leadership studies at Converse University in Spartanburg, SC.

    This program is relevant to library workers from all library types, academic, public, special, etc. No registration required. Join us at https://unh.zoom.us/j/99129412043

    Learn more about ACRL DBIG : https://acrl.libguides.com/digitalbadgeinterestgroup



    ------------------------------
    Wendy Pothier
    Business & Economics Librarian
    University of New Hampshire
    She/Her/Hers,1
    ------------------------------