Contemplative Pedagogy Interest Group

 View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Charge: Explores the concept of contemplative pedagogy in librarianship through demonstrating modes of integrating contemplative practices into library instruction and research life.
Community members can post as a new Discussion or email ALA-acrlcpig@ConnectedCommunity.org
Before you post: please note job postings are prohibited on ALA Connect. Please see the Code of Conduct for more information.

Reminder: The Wheel of Power/Privilege: Wednesday, November 15th via Zoom

  • 1.  Reminder: The Wheel of Power/Privilege: Wednesday, November 15th via Zoom

    Posted Nov 09, 2023 10:02 AM

    Hello everyone,

    This is a friendly reminder that all are welcome to attend the ACRL Contemplative Pedagogy Interest Group fall program! Please register online and see details below:

    The Wheel of Power/Privilege: Acknowledging Our Biases and Systems of Power in Our Work as Library Workers
    Presented by Ray Pun (he/him),  Alder Graduate School of Education
    Wednesday, November 15th, 2:00 p.m. Eastern, 1:00 p.m. Central, 12:00 p.m. Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific

    Program description:

    Have you heard of or seen the wheel of power/privilege created by Sylvia Duckworth? This interactive session dives into this graphic and shares how our biases and privileges might impact our activities such as reading, writing, researching, and even teaching our learners. Our roles as educators require us to be mindful of how we teach and engage with our learners and how we understand and interrogate the academic systems and processes that uphold power for those in the status quo.

    Speaker:

    Ray Pun (he/him) is a librarian at the Alder Graduate School of Education, a teacher residency program in California, where he is a solo librarian and an instructor for the MA Seminar Pathway Program.  Pun holds a doctorate in education, an MLS, and an MA in East Asian studies.

    Please note that this session while this session will not be recorded, slides will be available afterwards. Looking forward to seeing you there!

    Kind regards,
    ACRL Contemplative Pedagogy Interest Group Leadership Team: Sarah Parramore, Paulina Rousseau, and Sharon Ladenson



    ------------------------------
    Sharon Ladenson (she/her/hers)
    Gender and Communication Studies Librarian
    Michigan State University Libraries
    ------------------------------