RDA-L

 View Only
last person joined: 6 days ago 

Open discussion of RDA, RDA Toolkit, and related topics

ALA Core Bibliographic Conceptual Models Interest Group --- Summer 2022 Program

  • 1.  ALA Core Bibliographic Conceptual Models Interest Group --- Summer 2022 Program

    Posted Jul 11, 2022 12:03 PM

    ***With apologies for cross-posting***

     

    Please join the ALA Core Bibliographic Conceptual Models (BCM) Interest Group for its Virtual Summer Session. This  session will take place on Thursday, July 21, 2022, at 2 pm ET (11 am PT, 1 pm CT, 18:00 UTC) and will consist of one presentation (see below for program details). 

    The session is free and open to all, but registration is required. Register for this session at:  https://ala-events.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJcud-GurzovHdaOwh4CamYK5mDiPZwf48uD

     

    Program details: 

    The Open WEMI Idea 

    Karen Coyle 

    The concepts first introduced in the FRBR document and known as "WEMI" (Work, Expression, Manifestation, Item) have been employed in situations quite different from the library bibliographic catalog. This is evidence that a definition of similar classes that are more general than those developed for library usage would benefit metadata developers broadly. A Dublin Core community group has been formed to look at the possibility of creating a minimally constrained vocabulary to support the creation of metadata for the description of all kinds of created "things".

    https://github.com/dcmi/openwemi

     

    Friendly Regards,

    Thomas Dousa (co-chair) | University of Chicago | tmdousa@uchicago.edu 

    Paloma Graciani (co-chair) | Harry Ransom Center | paloma.graciani@austin.utexas.edu 

    Nathan Putnam (vice-chair) | OCLC | putnamn@oclc.org 

     



    ------------------------------
    Paloma Graciani Picardo
    Metadata Librarian and Head, Printed & Published Media
    Harry Ransom Center | The University of Texas at Austin | www.hrc.utexas.edu
    She/Her/Hers
    ------------------------------