ALA Council

 View Only
last person joined: one month ago 

ALA announces 2022-2023 Presidential and Councilors at Large candidates

  • 1.  ALA announces 2022-2023 Presidential and Councilors at Large candidates

    Posted Oct 26, 2020 10:17 AM

    Greetings, ALA Councilors.

    Please join me in congratulating Stacey A. Aldrich, State Librarian, Hawaii State Public Library System, Honolulu, Hawaii; Ed Garcia, Director, Cranston Public Library, Cranston, Rhode Island; and Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada, Adult Services Assistant Manager, Palos Verdes Library District, Rolling Hills Estates, California, who are candidates for the 2022-23 presidency of the American Library Association (ALA).

    American Libraries has posted additional information regarding our 2022-23 candidates in today's issue of ALA Scoop at Press releases announcing 2022-23 ALA presidential and Councilors at Large candidates are also available in the News Section of at

    I want to thank members of the ALA Nominating Committee for making today's announcement possible and extend congratulations to committee Chair Candice (Wing-yee) Mack, Los Angeles Public Library, California; Floyd Council, Birmingham Public Library, Alabama; Skip Dye, Penguin Random House, New York, New York; Ann Dutton Ewbank, Montana State University, Bozeman, Montana; Eldon Ray James, Retired researcher, Abilene, Texas; Amy Spence Lappin, Lebanon Public Libraries, New Hampshire; Arlene Laverde, Townsend Harris High School Library, Jamaica, New York; Scott Walter, San Diego State University, California; and Deimosa Webber-Bey, Scholastic Inc., New York, New York. 

    Aldrich, Garcia, and Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada will participate in the Presidential Candidate Forum held during the Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits virtual event on January 23, 2021, at 1 pm Central / 2 pm Eastern Time.

    Julius C. Jefferson Jr., ALA President

    Julius Jefferson, Jr.
    ALA President