ALA Council

 View Only
last person joined: one month ago 

Candidate Slate for ALA Executive Board Election during 2022 Virtual January Council Meetings

  • 1.  Candidate Slate for ALA Executive Board Election during 2022 Virtual January Council Meetings

    Posted Dec 30, 2021 03:54 PM
    Hello Councilors,

    On behalf of the ALA Committee on Committees, ALA President-elect Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada is very pleased to announce the following Councilors have been slated as candidates for the upcoming 2022 ALA Executive Board Election during the upcoming Virtual January Council Meetings:

    1. Kathy Carroll - School Librarian, Westwood High School, Blythewood, SC
    2. Sara Dallas - Director, Southern Adirondack Library System, Saratoga Springs, NY
    3. Binh P. Le – Librarian, The Pennsylvania State University, Abington College, Abington, PA
    4. Ed Sanchez - Head, Library Information Technology, Raynor Memorial Libraries, Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI

    TWO (2) candidates will be elected to the 2022-2025 ALA Executive Board. The first TWO (2) candidates receiving the highest number of votes will be elected to 3-year terms (2022-2025).

    The ALA Executive Board Candidates Forum will be held virtually on Thursday, January 20, 2022: 3:30–4:30 p.m. CT/ 4:30–5:30 p.m. ET.  The forum gives Council members an opportunity to hear the views of the candidates and to ask questions of them prior to voting. Councilors will cast their vote electronically after the Executive Board Candidates Forum, and election results will be reported at Council III on Monday, January 24, 2022.  Detailed bios of the candidates will be posted to the Council documents page, as well as directions and links for electronic voting forwarded, prior to the virtual Council meetings.

    To submit questions prior to the forum, please click here to submit your questions:  Please also remember to register for the Virtual Council Meetings and Executive Board Candidates Forum. 

    Thanks to all the Councilors who submitted their names for consideration in this importance process. Please be reminded that additional nominations may be made from the Council floor during the Virtual January Council I meeting on January 19, 2022.

    Please reach out to with any questions.

    The 2021-2022 ALA Committee on Committees is:

    Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada, Chair

    Oscar Baeza

    Regina Beard

    K.C. Boyd

    Holly Robison
    Governance Associate
    American Library Association