ALA Council

last person joined: 2 months ago 

ALA Penguin Random House Award - deadline extended to March 1, 2021

  • 1.  ALA Penguin Random House Award - deadline extended to March 1, 2021

    Posted 28 days ago

    Has your school, academic or public library created an innovative community service program that inspired new readers?

    Nominations have been extended for The Penguin Random House Library Award for Innovation. The annual award recognizes U.S. libraries and librarians who create lasting innovative community service programs that successfully inspire and connect with new readers. The award consists of a $10,000 cash prize.

    The award, established in 2019, is open to public, school , and academic libraries. The Penguin Random House Foundation sponsors the $10,000 cash prize given to a library. The jury will award four runner-ups $1,000 in Penguin Random House books to eligible libraries.

    "The Penguin Random House Award for Library Innovation celebrates and honors libraries that have identified challenges facing their patrons and implemented inventive programs and initiatives which have had a profound and lasting impact," said Skip Dye, senior vice president library sales and digital strategy for Penguin Random House. "COVID-19 has pressed libraries to be more creative and resourceful than ever before, and we are so proud to support their vital work in our communities nationwide."

    Jury Chair Sara Dallas stated, "Libraries have been so important to their communities during the pandemic by providing resources and innovative programs. Many library staff across the country are doing exciting and innovative activities to reach people in a virtual environment. These awards celebrate those that reach out and find new ways to serve and support people of all ages. The generous cash prize from the Penguin Random House Foundation will promote continued partnerships with local organizations and help sustain much-needed programming."

    The nomination must show evidence of hardship, including economic difficulties or natural disasters, and demonstrate successful partnership(s) that work to overcome the hardship. Partners can include schools, local businesses, museums, and other community organizations. The nomination should focus on innovative and unique programming that may include new technology, reading methods or formats, outreach, etc. Nominees are not required to have a Master's in Library Science degree but is preferred.

    More information about the award, application information, and selection criteria can be found online.  The deadline for applications is March 1, 2021.  The awards will be presented at the ALA annual conference that will take place in June 2021.



    Sara Dallas
    Albany Public Library