Technical Services Interest Group

 View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

Charge: Provides a broad framework for information exchange on current developments and activities related to technical services.
Community members can post as a new Discussion or email ALA-acrltsig@ConnectedCommunity.org
Before you post: please note job postings are prohibited on ALA Connect. Please see the Code of Conduct for more information.

Reminder : Webinar announcement : "$2rbmscv": Crash course in a new(-ish) vocabulary, April 22nd

  • 1.  Reminder : Webinar announcement : "$2rbmscv": Crash course in a new(-ish) vocabulary, April 22nd

    Posted Apr 16, 2024 09:14 AM

    This is a reminder that the Bibliographic Standards Committee of the ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS) invites you to the webinar, "$2rbmscv": Crash course in a new(-ish) vocabulary

     

    Date: Monday, April 22nd, 2024

     

    Time: 2:00 - 3:00 pm Eastern / 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central / 12:00 - 1:00 pm Mountain / 11:00 - 12:00 Pacific

     

    Register here: https://umd.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJMsfu-oqT4tE9VJ3o34g8jQnxG7x8elOX5I

     

    Presenters: Jennifer Bradshaw, Rebecca Flore, Jose Guerrero, Ryan Hildebrand, and Sarah Hoover

     

    Join members of the RBMS Controlled Vocabularies Editorial Group and its Prejudicial Materials Working Group to learn about the RBMS Controlled Vocabulary for Rare Materials Cataloging (RBMS CVRMC), a new vocabulary launched last year. The RBMS CVRMC, which supersedes the six earlier RBMS Controlled Vocabularies, provides genre and form terminology designed to facilitate access to special collections resources, especially rare books and manuscripts. Presenters will give an overview of RBMS CVRMC and how to use it, reflect on the recent prejudicial materials project and the potential impact of such work within the profession, and offer collections-based use cases for terms. The presentation will conclude with a look toward the future, with a focus on how the community can be directly involved in building the vocabulary.



    ------------------------------
    Andrea Schuba
    Monographs Cataloging Librarian
    University of Maryland
    She/Her/Hers
    ------------------------------