IFRT Members Community (Open)

 View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) provides a forum for the discussion of activities, programs, and problems in intellectual freedom of libraries and librarians.

The IFRT Members Community group is the central hub for discussion, library and events. It is visible to all ALA members but only IFRT members can participate in the conversation.

Invitation: Freedom to Read Celebration

  • 1.  Invitation: Freedom to Read Celebration

    Posted 14 days ago

    Please share the invitation with any groups you represent or state associations, divisions, or round tables you are a member of. Proceeds from the event will benefit the Merritt Fund. Thank you

    Open in your browser.




    The ALA Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) and the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) invite you to the Freedom to Read Celebration to honor their intellectual freedom award recipients and raise awareness and funds for the Leroy C. Merritt Humanitarian Fund.



    Friday, June 24th at 7pm - 8:30pm





    David Levithan

    We're excited to have banned author David Levithan launch the awards ceremony. David is a children's book editor and the author of several banned and challenged books for young adults. David was named the recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award for his contribution to YA literature. His newest book, Answers in the Pages, released through Penguin Random House, addresses speaking up and coming out as parents lobby to ban a beloved book from the school curriculum.


    To close the evening, the Freedom to Read Foundation will play a short video from Amy Dodson, recent recipient of Merritt funds during her legal and employments challenges at the Douglas County (NV) Public Library. Contributions from the evening will benefit the fund to assist other librarians discriminated against or fired.



    Award Recipients



    • Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor Award recipient Eldon "Ray" James
    • John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award recipient Terri Lesley
    • Gerald Hodges Intellectual Freedom Chapter Relations Award recipients Tennessee Library Association (TLA) and the Tennessee Association of School Librarians (TASL).
    • Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award recipient Jamie M. Gregory



    Celebration Details



    Date: Friday, June 24th at 7pm - 8:30pm

    Location: Marriott Marquis, Univ of DC & Catholic Univ

    Cost: Suggested Donation: $20.00 (checks and cash preferred) to benefit the Leroy C. Merritt Humanitarian Fund (one free drink ticket included)

    Scheduler: Add the Freedom to Read Celebration to your ALA Annual Conference Schedule.

    More information can be found on the ALA Press Release.




    Penguin Random House


    FTRF and IFRT wish to thank Penguin Random House for their generosity in sponsoring the reception.





    Join us in recognizing these individuals and organizations that strive to educate and raise awareness of intellectual freedom.




    American Library Association, 225 Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60601