IFRT Members Community (Open)

 View Only
last person joined: 6 days ago 

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) provides a forum for the discussion of activities, programs, and problems in intellectual freedom of libraries and librarians.

The IFRT Members Community group is the central hub for discussion, library and events. It is visible to all ALA members but only IFRT members can participate in the conversation.

Conducting a Privacy Audit

  • 1.  Conducting a Privacy Audit

    Posted Jan 05, 2022 11:44 AM

    Conducting a Privacy Audit

    With Julie Oborny & Erin Berman. A 90-minute workshop.

    Wednesday, January 12, 2022

    2:30 pm Eastern | 1:30 pm Central | 12:30 pm Mountain | 11:30 am Pacific

     

    If the crises and disasters of this past year have taught us anything, it's that libraries change according to circumstance. Data is a critical component to successfully adapting to those changes. How much data you collect and how you use it as your organization changes can quickly and easily undermine privacy-a core value of libraries and the seventh article in the ALA's Library Bill of Rights.

     

    How can your library continue to evolve without sacrificing privacy? With a privacy audit. This interactive workshop will help you get started on a privacy audit in your library. Don't worry if you don't have the ability to do a privacy audit yourself. We'll also include things you can do to advocate for getting a privacy audit done at your library.

     

     

    Learn more

     

     

     

    See More eLearning Opportunities

     

    Kristin

     

    Kristin Pekoll, CAE

    Assistant Director

    Office for Intellectual Freedom

     

    ALAAmericanLibraryAssociation

    225 N Michigan Ave, Suite 1300, Chicago, IL 60601

    312.280.4221

     

    Beyond Banned Books: Defending Intellectual Freedom throughout Your Library

    By Kristin Pekoll – Available Now at the ALA Store