Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Picture
Kayla Burns's picture

ALCTS E-Forum: Government Information: Now and in the Future

When: 
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 8:30 am to Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 4:30 pm, US/Central

Government Information: Now and in the Future

November 13-14, 2012

Hosted by Lori Smith

Please join us for an e-forum discussion. It’s free and open to everyone! 
Registration information is at the end of the message.

Each day, sessions begin and end at:

Pacific: 6:30am – 2:30pm
Mountain: 7:30am – 3:30pm
Central: 8:30am – 4:30pm 
Eastern: 9:30am – 5:30pm

Description

Many information resources from the federal government are now available online.  Given that fact, do libraries still need to collect government documents in physical formats?  Why?  If you aren't a Federal Depository Library (FDL), how do you find out what resources are available?  How do you direct your patrons to them?  Who's going to preserve all this electronic information so people can access it in the future?

Lori Smith is the Government Documents Department Head at Southeastern Louisiana University's Sims Memorial Library, and the 2012-2013 Coordinator of the Federal Documents Task Force of ALA's Government Documents Round Table.  Smith has worked with federal and state publications since 1987.  She conceived, edited, and co-authored the 2003 book Tapping State Government Information Sources, and contributed a chapter to the 2008 book Managing Electronic Government Information in Libraries: Issues and Practices.

To Register

Instructions for registration are available at: http://bit.ly/eforuminfo. Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the email list. Participation is free and open to anyone.