Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Picture
Kristin Martin's picture

ALCTS E-forum: New Possibilities in Cooperative Cataloging?

When: 
Tuesday, June 15, 2010 - 9:00 am to Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 5:00 pm, US/Central

New Possibilities in Cooperative Cataloging?

June 15-16, 2010

E-forum starts at 10 AM Eastern, 9 AM Central, 8 AM Mountain, and 7 AM Pacific time and runs until 6 PM Eastern, 5 PM Central, 4 PM Mountain, and 3 PM Pacific time each day.

*Note the later start time*

Moderated by: Rebecca L. Mugridge, Pennsylvania State University Libraries, and Michele Seikel, Oklahoma State University Library

Libraries have been happy to share metadata for decades, via OCLC. But what are new ways to expand our data-sharing activities, and thus our cataloging? Today, libraries are putting up open source catalogs and using Dublin Core, MODS, MADS, and ONIX to place their records on the Web and bring them to a much larger audience.  This e-forum  will explore cutting edge ideas about cooperative cataloging, from record structure alternatives for MARC to new ways of cooperating in sharing metadata.  Join us for a discussion about how to make our collections and the records that describe them more accessible to the world than ever before.

Rebecca L. Mugridge has been Head of Cataloging and Metadata Services at the Pennsylvania State University Libraries since 2000. Prior to coming to Penn State, she held positions at Yale University, Robert Morris University, and the University of Pittsburgh.  Ms. Mugridge has a BA in history from Penn State, an MLS from the University of Pittsburgh, and an MBA from Robert Morris University.  She is active in the Association for College and Research Libraries and the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) and currently serves as Director at Large in ALCTS.  She is also active in the Pennsylvania Library Association and is a former chair of the Program for Cooperative Cataloging Policy Committee. Ms. Mugridge’s research interests include cataloging, authority control, and library management. Previous publications include Managing Digitization Activities: an ARL SPEC Kit (2006), and Teams in Library Technical Services (2006), which she co-edited.

Michele Seikel was educated at San Jose State University in San Jose, California. She has experience in cataloging serials, monographs, and media of all kinds, including e-resources. Currently, she serves as Cataloger and Associate Professor, Edmon Low Library at Oklahoma State University.

*What is an e-forum?*

An ALCTS e-forum provides an opportunity for librarians to discuss matters of interest, led by a moderator, through the e-forum discussion list. The e-forum discussion list works like an email listserv: register your email address with the list, and then you will receive messages and communicate with other participants through an email discussion.  Most e-forums last two to three days. Registration is necessary to participate, but it's free.  See a list of upcoming e-forums at: http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alcts/confevents/upcoming/e-forum/inde...

*To register:*

Instructions for registration are available at: http://bit.ly/eforuminfo. Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the email list.  Participation is free and open to anyone.