ALA Council

View Only
last person joined: 3 months ago 

• 1.  Mask Requirements at ALA Annual

Posted Jun 25, 2022 04:40 PM
    My understanding is that the ALA policy for conference attendees is:

Masks will be required at all ALA events and ALA contracted venues including but not limited to meetings in hotels, the convention center, on the exhibit floor, and on shuttle buses regardless of whether it is required by law at the time of the Conference.   

I am attending virtually so I have no first hand knowledge -- but I have been told by numerous people that the mask requirement is not being enforced.  This is very upsetting to them.  What is ALA doing to enforce the mask requirement during this conference?  Thank you,

Eileen Palmer

------------------------------
    Eileen M. Palmer
    Executive Director
    LMxAC Libraries of Middlesex
    NJLA Chapter Councilor
    empalmer@lmxac.org

• 2.  RE: Mask Requirements at ALA Annual

Posted Jun 25, 2022 05:04 PM
    My experience (ymmv) 
    On Thursday and Friday the WCC building staff were pretty active with reminding people to mask up as they entered the registration area. The hotels have been very hit or miss (the public lobby area and hallways) but the meeting rooms where I've been have been fairly well masked.
    (Of course I haven't really left the Council room today, haha)
    -Aaron
    :-)'

• 3.  RE: Mask Requirements at ALA Annual

Posted Jun 25, 2022 06:11 PM
    We are Washington D.C. there is no mask mandate! And you home, so you safe! 

Sent from my T-Mobile 5G Device
    Get Outlook for Android

• 4.  RE: Mask Requirements at ALA Annual

Posted Jun 25, 2022 06:21 PM
    Just passing along concerns from my members.  Sounds like there is confusion between the DC rules and the rules ALA announced.  I will be glad to clarify the rules to those who reached out if ALA is not requiring masks. 

Eileen

On Jun 25, 2022, at 7:12 PM, Eboni Henry via ALA Connect <mail@connectedcommunity.org> wrote: