Evidence Synthesis Methods Interest Group

View Only
last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Charge: To promote and develop competencies around evidence synthesis including systematic reviews, meta-analyses, scoping reviews, and other related methods of research synthesis, through activities such as: Facilitating discussion and peer-support; Creating and managing a resource page; Encouraging programming and publications around systematic reviews through ACRL.
Community members can post as a new Discussion or email ALA-acrlesmig@ConnectedCommunity.org
Before you post: please note job postings are prohibited on ALA Connect. Please see the Code of Conduct for more information.

Systematic Reviews for the Social Sciences - Training for Librarians

• 1.  Systematic Reviews for the Social Sciences - Training for Librarians

Posted Sep 22, 2022 04:31 PM
    Dear Colleagues, 
    I am a social sciences librarian at Rutgers University, where I support the School of Social Work, among other responsibilities.  The Social Work community has been increasingly interested in conducting systematic reviews, and I have been engaging in self-teaching and peer-to-peer learning in order to better support them.  I would like to also engage with some more formal training opportunities in systematic reviews. I've seen many training opportunities for librarians conducting systematic reviews in the health sciences, but not many  for librarians supporting systematic reviews in the social sciences. While I'm planning on looking into the existing health science training options, I was wondering if anyone has encountered any  courses or trainings specifically for librarians supporting systematic reviews in the social sciences? Thanks very much in advance for your help! 
    - Julia

------------------------------
    Julia Maxwell
    Librarian / Assistant Professor
    Rutgers University
    She/Her/Hers

• 2.  RE: Systematic Reviews for the Social Sciences - Training for Librarians