IFRT Members Community (Open)

last person joined: 3 days ago 

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) provides a forum for the discussion of activities, programs, and problems in intellectual freedom of libraries and librarians.

The IFRT Members Community group is the central hub for discussion, library and events. It is visible to all ALA members but only IFRT members can participate in the conversation.

Upcoming Banned Books Week Events

  • 1.  Upcoming Banned Books Week Events

    Posted Sep 22, 2021 03:36 PM
    Join One World Lit and the American Library Association on Wednesday, September 29 at 8:00 PM ET on Zoom for a special Ideas & Action virtual event where we investigate-and celebrate-Banned Books Week, the freedom of ideas, and the necessity and power of even the most discomforting truths.


    Featuring authors who have faced censorship directly, including Ta-Nehisi Coates (Between the World and Me), Nikole Hannah-Jones (The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story), Ibram X. Kendi (How to Be an Antiracist), and Bryan Stevenson (Just Mercy)-as well as authors who have joined the fight against censorship, including Cathy Park Hong (Minor Feelings), Heather McGhee (The Sum of Us), Adam Serwer (The Cruelty is the Point), and more-in a mix of live and recorded video appearances that reflect on the question, "What do you wish you had learned in school, but didn't?"

    Attendees will also hear from Janai Nelson, Associate Director-Counsel of the NAACP's Legal Defense Fund, about legal challenges to important books and why certain books tend to stir up conversation about free speech and censorship-when we should really be discussing their groundbreaking ideas. Rashad Robinson, president of Color Of Change (and author of the forthcoming From Presence to Power) will share additional remarks.

    Register
    Retweet American Library Association





    The Banned Books Week Coalition is delighted to host some amazing creators during Banned Books Week, September 26 – October 2, including a warm-up even with comics superstar
    Gene Luen Yang, Facebook Live events with the creators of the banned children's books Something Happened in Our Town and One of a Kind Like Me and Banned Books Week Honorary Chair Jason Reynolds, and Twitter chats with Laurie Halse Anderson and Alex Gino!
    Get the details here!
    Retweet Banned Books Week

    A Conversation With Gene Luen Yang: Censorship in Leander, Texas

    Thursday, September 23, 7:00 – 8:00 p.m. EDT / 6:00 – 7:00 p.m. CDT / 4:00 – 5:00 p.m. CDT
    Facebook Live: https://www.facebook.com/bannedbooksweek

    Censorship of Children's Books: A Conversation with the Creators of Something Happened in Our Town and One of a Kind, Like Me

    Monday, September 27, 2:30 – 3:30 p.m. EDT / 1:30– 2:30 p.m. CDT / 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PDT
    Facebook Live: https://www.facebook.com/bannedbooksweek

    Ask Jason Reynolds Anything* (*About Banned Books)

    Tuesday, September 28, 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. EDT / 12:00– 1:00 p.m. CDT / 10:00 – 11:00 a.m. PDT
    Facebook Live: https://www.facebook.com/bannedbooksweek

    #BannedBooksChat on Twitter with Laurie Halse Anderson

    Wednesday, September 29, 7:00 – 8:00 p.m. EDT / 6:00 – 7:00 p.m. CDT / 4:00 – 5:00 p.m. PDT
    Twitter

    #BannedBooksChat on Twitter with Alex Gino

    Thursday, September 30, 7:00 – 8:00 p.m. EDT / 6:00 – 7:00 p.m. CDT / 4:00 – 5:00 p.m. PDT
    Twitter



    ------------------------------
    Kristin Pekoll, CAE
    Assistant Director
    American Library Association
    kpekoll@ala.org
    She/Her/Hers
    ------------------------------