ALA Council

last person joined: one month ago 

Announcement of 2021-2024 ALA Executive Board Candidates Slate

  • 1.  Announcement of 2021-2024 ALA Executive Board Candidates Slate

    Posted Dec 18, 2020 10:04 AM

    The following message is sent on behalf of American Library Association President-Elect, Patty Wong


    Dear Councilors,

    On behalf of the ALA Council's Committee on Committees, I am very pleased to inform you that the following Councilors have been slated as candidates for the upcoming 2021 Midwinter Council Executive Board Election:


    1. Ann Ewbank, Associate Professor and Department Head, Education, Director, School Library Media Program Montana State University
    2. Sam Helmick, Community & Access Coordinator Iowa City Public Library
    3. kYmberly Keeton, Community Archivist & Librarian, Austin Public Library
    4. Ana Elisa de Campos Salles, Branch Manager Parkside Branch, San Francisco Public Library
    5. Grace Jackson-Brown, Research and Instruction Librarian Missouri State University
    6. Christina Rodriques, Member Relations Outreach Manager, Membership & Research, OCLC


    THREE (3) candidates will be elected to the 2021-2024 ALA Executive Board.  The first THREE (3) candidates receiving the highest number of votes will be elected to 3-year terms. To review the candidates' bio, please click here.


    Immediately following the ALA Council II meeting on Monday, January 25, 2021, 12:00pm-3pm CT, the ALA Executive Board Candidates Forum will be held from 3:15am-4:15pm CT.

    To register, click here.  Please note: the Executive Board Candidates Forum registration link is the same as the ALA Council Meetings.


    The forum gives Council members an opportunity to hear the views of the candidates and to ask questions of them prior to voting. Councilors will cast their vote electronically immediately following the Executive Board Candidates Forum and the ballot will close 7am Central Time the next day, Tuesday, January 26. The election results will be reported at Council III on Tuesday, January 26. To submit questions prior to the forum, please click here to submit your questions:


    Thanks to all the Councilors who submitted their names for considerations in this importance process. Please be reminded that additional nominations may be made from the Council virtual floor following the presentation of the COC's report on its slate of candidates at Council I, Sunday, January 24, 1:00-4:30pm CT. Councilors may nominate via the Q&A or Raise Hand Feature. The nominee would then accept/decline the nomination.


    Lastly, my sincere thanks to the members of the Committee on Committees: Melissa Cardenas-Dow, LeRoy LaFleur, Leslie Preddy, and Eric Suess for their excellent work in developing this slate of candidates!




    Patty Wong

    2020-2021 ALA President-elect

    Chair, Committee on Committees (COC)