Spectrum & Diversity Scholars Community

Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award nominations due by Dec. 1

  • 1.  Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award nominations due by Dec. 1

    Posted Oct 06, 2017 08:11 AM

    We are seeking nominees for the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award. This award recognizes outstanding achievements (including risk-taking) by academic librarians who have contributed significantly to improvements in the areas of library automation, library management, and/or library development and research. This award honors the life and accomplishments of Hugh C. Atkinson, one of the major innovators in modern librarianship.

    This award is funded by an endowment created by divisional, individual, and vendor contributions given in memory of Hugh C. Atkinson.

    The nominee must be a librarian employed in one of the following during the year prior to application for this award:

    • University, college, or community college library
    • Non-profit consortium, or a consortium comprised of non-profits that provides resources/services/support to academic libraries

    The nominee must have a minimum of five years of professional experience in an academic library or in a non-profit consortium or a consortium comprised of non-profits. Electronic submissions are required. Nominations must include documentation that indicates the name, address, and phone number of both the nominating party and the nominee as well as a narrative supporting the nomination, and a current vita. Nominators are encouraged to provide additional letters of support to assist the committee in understanding the full scope of the nominee’s contributions.

    Award: Plaque and cash award sponsored by ACRL, ALCTS, LLAMA, and LITA

    Questions, please contact the award committee chair:
    Theresa S. Byrd
    Chair, Hugh C. Atkinson Award Committee 

    Please e-mail the nomination to Chase Ollis at collis@ala.org.

    For more information, please see this link:

    Best wishes,

    Holly Tomren
    LITA Representative on the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award Committee