RDA-L

last person joined: 5 days ago 

Open discussion of RDA, RDA Toolkit, and related topics

Invitation to review Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (RDA Edition) (DCRMR)

  • 1.  Invitation to review Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (RDA Edition) (DCRMR)

    Posted 26 days ago

    Dear Colleagues,

     

    *Please excuse cross-posting.*

     

    We are happy to announce the completion of the first iteration of Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (RDA Edition) (DCRMR), and invite you to submit feedback on the text. DCRMR is an RDA-compliant manual aligned with the RDA element set. This new DCRM manual is currently a minimum viable product, incorporating instructions for rare books cataloging from DCRM(B). Eventually, we will incorporate instructions from all of the format-specific DCRM manuals (cartographic, graphics, manuscripts, music, and serials), as well as a glossary and additional appendices.

     

    DCRMR is endorsed by the Bibliographic Standards Committee of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). The RBMS RDA Editorial Group, a subgroup of the Bibliographic Standards Committee, is responsible for developing and maintaining DCRMR.

     

    DCRMR is available here: https://bsc.rbms.info/DCRMR/

     

    We encourage you to submit comments, suggestions, and other feedback during the public review of the text, November 12-December 15, 2021. Please submit your feedback using this Google form:

    https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfb8TYouqXXAqHO6mXLqbd33FF2UUKq3sBQFDgqXLAuQbaTkg/viewform

    Note that all fields on the form are optional, and the form may be submitted more than once.

    We welcome your comments and questions regarding major changes from DCRM(B), summarized here: https://github.com/rbms-bsc/DCRMR/wiki/Major-changes-from-DCRM(B). Please note that links to the RDA Toolkit are currently misdirecting. We are actively updating them and anticipate they will be fixed in the coming weeks.

     

    During the review period, members of the Editorial Group will also hold two live public forums via Zoom:

    • December 7, 2021, 12:30 pm PST / 1:30 pm MST / 2:30 pm CST / 3:30 pm EST
    • December 8, 2021, 9:00 am CST / 10:00 am EST / 3:00 pm GMT

    Each session will be 90 minutes. All are welcome to discuss DCRMR and provide feedback during one of the live sessions. Stay tuned for announcements providing additional details and connection information.

     

    Best,

    Elizabeth Hobart & Jessica Grzegorski, DCRMR co-editors



    ------------------------------
    Jessica Grzegorski
    Principal Cataloging Librarian
    Newberry Library
    She/Her/Hers
    ------------------------------