RDA-L

last person joined: yesterday 

Open discussion of RDA, RDA Toolkit, and related topics

What to Expect from the 2021 RDA Lab Series (Late February to August 2021)

  • 1.  What to Expect from the 2021 RDA Lab Series (Late February to August 2021)

    Posted Feb 04, 2021 08:12 PM
    Edited by Ramon Robinson Feb 04, 2021 09:38 PM

    The RDA Lab Series, a weekly presentation of live webinars by cataloger and recent RDA Steering Committee member Kate James, will return this month with new Q&A opportunities.  Scheduled to run from February 23, 2021 to August 18, 2021 CDT, this upcoming iteration of the familiar series invites registrants to work with the new RDA Toolkit in either one of two time slots of their choosing.  While designed specifically for the time convenience of users in Africa, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania, the series welcomes participation by catalogers EVERYWHERE.  Registration for the 2021 RDA Lab Series or its individual modules is now open here on the ALA Store website. 

    Asked about the series for a 2020 interview, instructor Kate James remarked that it will "teach you the structure and terminology of the new RDA" and continue to debunk the myth that "there is no way someone will actually be able to catalog anything using this."  Catalogers who participated in the 2020 RDA Lab Series may want to consider registering for individual modules of the upcoming series in order to ask and receive answers to any new or outstanding questions.  For the first time, registrants will explore the newly official RDA Toolkit as a group under the tutelage of one of its most adept users.  

    What preparation is necessary for the series?  Here's what Kate had to say last year: "Participants should have a working knowledge of RDA structure and terminology. I suggest that all participants watch the RDA Concepts playlist on the RDA Toolkit YouTube channel, regardless of experience with original RDA. The videos are all under 15 minutes.  Participants should be able to use the [new] Toolkit, including logging in, searching, and navigating." 

    You can learn more about what to expect from the RDA Lab Series by reading our full interview with Kate James here.  Registrants are also encouraged to ask questions live during the webinars, or e-mail them in advance to rdatoolkit@ala.org with subject line "Ask Kate James" for consideration during the webinars.  Recordings of the webinars will be available to late registrants and all other registrants who are unable to attend live.

    A list of weekly participation times for the February into August 2021 RDA Lab Series follows:

    Session A

    • Tuesdays at 9:30 AM New York City and Toronto time
    • Tuesdays at 11:30 AM Santiago and Salvador de Bahia time
    • Tuesdays at 3:30 PM Berlin and Budapest time
    • Tuesdays at 4:30 PM Beirut and Johannesburg time

    Session B

    • Wednesdays at 4:30 PM Los Angeles and Seattle time
    • Wednesdays at 7:30 PM Atlanta and Montreal time
    • Thursdays at 8:30 AM Hong Kong and Singapore time
    • Thursdays at 11:30 AM Melbourne and Sydney time


    We recommend The World Clock to identify the best participation time in your location, relative to our specified times.

    Looking for group registration rates for the upcoming RDA Lab Series?  Just e-mail Dan at elsmarketing@ala.org to discuss package options.  We look forward to seeing many of your names again or for the first time over the next six months! 



    ------------------------------
    Ramon Robinson
    American Library Association
    ------------------------------