ALA Council

last person joined: 2 months ago 

Announcing the 2020-2023 ALA Executive Board Candidates

  • 1.  Announcing the 2020-2023 ALA Executive Board Candidates

    Posted Dec 04, 2019 03:07 PM

    Dear Councilors,

    On behalf of the ALA Council's Committee on Committees, I am very pleased to inform you that the following Councilors have been slated as candidates for the upcoming 2020 Midwinter Council Executive Board Election:


    1. Sara Dallas - System Director, Southern Adirondack Library
    2. Sandra Hirsh - Professor and Director, San Jose State University
    3. Susan Jennings - Dean of Library Services, Chattanooga State Community College
    4. Larry Neal - Library Director, Clinton-Macomb Public Library        
    5. Alexandra Rivera - Student Success and Community Engagement Librarian, University of Michigan Library               
    6. Eric Suess - Library Director, Marshall Public Library


    THREE (3) candidates will be elected to the 2020-2023 ALA Executive Board.  The first THREE (3) candidates receiving the highest number of votes will be elected to 3-year terms (2020-2023), and seated on the ALA Executive Board at its fall meeting on October 23-25, 2020, in Chicago, IL. 


    Immediately following the ALA Council II meeting on Monday, January 27, 2020, 10:00am-12noon, the ALA Executive Board Candidates Forum will be held from 12:15am-1:15pm, in the Philadelphia Marriott, Terrance IV Ballroom.  The forum gives Council members an opportunity to hear the views of the candidates and to ask questions of them prior to voting.  Councilors will cast their vote immediately following the Executive Board Candidates Forum. The election results will be reported at Council III on Tuesday, January 28, 2020.


    Thanks to all the Councilors who submitted their names for considerations in this importance process.   Again, please be reminded that additional nominations may be made from the Council floor following the presentation of the COC's report on its slate of candidates at Council I, Sunday, January 26, 2020, 9:00-11:00am. 


    Also, my thanks to members of the Committee on Committees for their excellent work in developing this slate of candidates!




    Julius C. Jefferson, Jr.

    ALA President-elect

    Chair, Committee on Committees