ACRL Student Retention Discussion Group1

last person joined: 5 months ago 

Charge: To discuss methods, best practices, and assessment for developing case-by-case and programmatic efforts related to student retention.

#Academic Libraries
#Assessment and Evaluation
#ACRL Discussion and Interest Groups (Association of College and Research Libraries)
#Instruction
#Member Communities

LLAMA New Professional LIS Outreach Workshop: Pin it to Win It

  • 1.  LLAMA New Professional LIS Outreach Workshop: Pin it to Win It

    Posted Mar 02, 2020 04:20 PM
    Hello,
    LLAMA New Professional LIS Outreach Workshop is hosting a series of online professional development workshops. Feel free to forward this announcement to your students.
    Workshop Title: Spin it to Win It: Crafting a Cover Letter and Resume that Connect Your Unique Past to Your Future Library Job
    Date: March 6, 2020
     
    Time: 10:00 a.m. PST (11:00 a.m MST; 12:00 p.m. CST; 1:00 p.m. EST)
    Length: 1.5 hours
     
    Workshop Description: Attendees will learn how to tailor resumes and cover letters to a specific job while using a bit of "spin" to showcase skills applicable to the position that were gained through varied work histories (e.g. little/no library experience, experience in a different industry).
     
    Speaker: Shannon Kealey
    Speaker Bio: Shannon Kealey is the Head of the Life & Health Sciences Division at UC Berkeley Library. In addition to fifteen years of experience in academic libraries, during which she has served on numerous search committees for both career staff and librarian vacancies, she also has five years of career services experience. She worked with MBA students at Fordham University and MBA and Ed.D. Students at Concordia University-Portland on career development, resumes, cover letters, and interview prep. 
    No registration is required.
    The workshop will be recorded and posted to https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5u9JvXt6yRg67ay31eyDsg


    ------------------------------
    Regards,

    Alyse Jordan, Ed.D.
    Associate Librarian
    Arizona State University
    Tempe, AZ
    ------------------------------