## A Tribute Resolution Recognizing Mary Biblo for 42 Years of Service as an ALA Councilor-At-Large and 49 Years of Service as an ALA Member

Whereas Mary Biblo joined ALA in 1971 and in the July/August 2014 issue of American Libraries cited the 1977 release of *The Speaker* as inciting her decades-long activism and involved membership in the American Library Association;

Whereas Mary Biblo worked at and advocated for school libraries and their students as Head Librarian of the University of Chicago Laboratory School from 1970-1998;

Whereas Mary Biblo was a Master Teacher at the University of Chicago Laboratory School from 1984 until her retirement in 1998;

Whereas Mary Biblo served as an elected ALA Councilor-At-Large from 1978-2020, where she advocated tirelessly for library workers and ALA staff, moving the successful "Resolution on Voter Suppression in America";

Whereas Mary Biblo served as a member of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards Jury from 1983-1989;

Whereas Mary Biblo was an active member of the Social Responsibilities Round Table from 1976 to 2019, was elected Coordinator of the SRRT Action Council for 1977-1978, and was again a member of the Action Council from 2013 to 2019;

Whereas Mary Biblo, along with Virginia B. Moore and Marvin Scilken, helped establish the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Task Force within the Social Responsibilities Round Table in 1999 that celebrated its 20th Anniversary of the Sunrise Celebration in 2019;

Whereas Mary Biblo has served on and chaired numerous ALA committees over her 49 years of membership;

Whereas Mary Biblo has been active in the American Association of School Librarians, the Intellectual Freedom Round Table, the International Federation of Library Associations, the Illinois Library Association, and the Black Caucus of the American Library Association, to name a few;

Whereas Mary Biblo received the 1996 Distinguished Service award from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association;

## 2019-2020 ALA Tribute #5 2020 ALA Virtual Council Meeting

Whereas Mary Biblo received the 2015 "Trailblazer" award from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association; and

Whereas Mary Biblo has been a mentor and inspiration for countless councilors and all library workers during her 42 years as an ALA Councilor-At-Large and 49 years as an ALA member; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, that the American Library Association, on behalf of its members:

- 1. recognizes and celebrates the outstanding service that Mary Biblo has provided to the American Library Association; and
- 2. encourages all ALA Councilors, ALA members, and ALA staff to congratulate Mary Biblo on her tenure as an ALA Councilor-At-Large.

Mover: Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada, Executive Board

Seconder: Ed Garcia, Executive Board

Patricia "Patty" Wong, Executive Board

Em Claire Knowles, Councilor-At-Large

Al Kagan, ALA Member

Virginia B. Moore, Councilor-At-Large

Jim Neal, Councilor-At-Large

Andrew Wertheimer, Hawai'i Chapter Councilor

Elaine Harger, former Councilor-at-Large

Charles Kratz, ALA Member

Liz Philippi, Councilor-At-Large

Melissa Cardenas-Dow, Councilor-At-Large

Ana Elisa de Campos Salle, Councilor-At-Large

Sara Dallas, Councilor-At-Large

Louis Muñoz Jr., Councilor-At-Large

Karen Downing, Councilor-At-Large

Brenda Pruitt-Annisette, Councilor-At-Large

Sara Kelly Johns, Councilor-at Large

Cecilia Tovar, California Chapter Councilor

Martín Gómez, Councilor-at-Large

Sandy Hirsh, IRRT Councilor

Rivkah Sass. LLAMA Councilor

Mark Hudson, ALA Member

Ann Crewdson, former Councilor-at-Large

Ann Symons, Councilor-At-Large

## 2019-2020 ALA Tribute #5 2020 ALA Virtual Council Meeting

Mike Marlin, Councilor-At-Large

Patricia Glass Schuman, Past ALA President, Honorary Member

Eric Suess, Councilor-At-Large

Peter Hepburn, Councilor-At-Large

Susan Gregory, Councilor-At-Large

Joan Weeks, Councilor-At-Large

Aaron Dobbs, Small Round Tables Councilor

Matthew Bollerman, SustainRT Councilor

Pamela R. Klipsch, ALA Member

Maria McCauley, Executive Board

David Dahl, Maryland Chapter Councilor

Daniella Smith, Councilor-At-Large

Tara Brady, SRRT Councilor

Holly Hibner, Councilor-At-Large

LaJuan Pringle, ALA Member

Vivian Bordeaux, Councilor-At-Large

Molly Raphael, Past ALA President

Diedre Conkling, ALA Member

John C. DeSantis, Councilor-At-Large

Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA Immediate Past President

Nick Buron, Councilor-At-Large

Julius C. Jefferson Jr., Incoming ALA President

Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President

Susan L. Jennings, Tennessee Chapter Councilor

Alexandra P. Rivera, Councilor-At-Large

Camila Alire, Past ALA President

Dora T. Ho, Councilor-At-Large

Gladys Smiley Bell, former Councilor-At-Large

Diane R. Chen, AASL Councilor

Susan Roman, former Councilor-At-Large

Maggie Farrell, ALA Treasurer

Johana Orellana Cabrera, Councilor-At-Large

Meg Delaney, Ohio Chapter Councilor

Michael Gutiérrez, Councilor-At-Large

Dorcas Hand, Councilor-At-Large

Jennifer C. Boettcher, Councilor-At-Large

Mario M. Gonzalez, Councilor-At-Large

Stephanie Chase, PLA Councilor

Endorsed by: SRRT Action Council

## 2019-2020 ALA Tribute #5 2020 ALA Virtual Council Meeting

Version: June 8, 2020, 11:30 AM PDT