# ALA Core Subject Analysis Committee (SAC) SAC Working Group on External Review of LC Vocabularies

Submitted by Violet Fox, co-chair, June 2022

## **Background**

At the January 2022 SAC meeting, a new topic was brought up for discussion asking if SAC might want to make a statement to encourage the Library of Congress Policy, Training, and Cooperative Program (PTCP) Division to create an editorial board or group with non-LC representation to review LCSH and LCC proposals. This would be a follow-up to an idea presented by Judith Cannan, Chief of Cooperative and Instructional Programs at Library of Congress, at the February 2021 PCC Participants Meeting.

In April 2022, SAC discussed that possibility via ALA Connect and voted to form a working group to make such a statement. The working group's charge is "providing some kind of recommendation to the Library of Congress to create an editorial board with non-LC representation for vetting LCSH and LCC proposals." This working group "will have the latitude to investigate a wide variety of possibilities and will determine the form that the recommendation takes."

## Membership

A general call was made for members, resulting in 27 members of the working group, along with two cochairs. Eight additional people are part of a separate advisory group, which will provide feedback at several times throughout the year. Members include long-time catalogers, newer catalogers, reference librarians, MLIS students, and others. There is representation from the U.S., Canada, the U.K., and Australia on the working group and advisory group. The co-chairs hope this broad representation will provide lots of potential for brainstorming ideas about how the LC vocabularies might include external perspectives.

Co-chairs:

Violet Fox SAC member

Jamie Carlstone Northwestern University

Working group members:

Allison Badger Idaho State University

Allison Bailund San Diego State

Alyssa Key

Aparna Ghosh University of South Florida

**Carrie Evans** 

Crystal Casparis UNC Chapel Hill

Emory LaPrade

Jeanette Claire Sewell Rice University

Jennifer Parsons Central Methodist University

John Keogh Johnson County Library (Johnson County, KS)

Julia Bullard University of British Columbia Leanne Finnigan Temple University Libraries

Melissa De Fino

Michael Stewart University of Delaware

Michele Lamorte

Nicola Cook Wellcome Collection
Paul Richmond Emerson College

Rebecca Saunders Western Carolina University

Robin Lowell

Sara McEachern

Shana McDanold DC Public Library

Stephanie Leary University of Washington iSchool

Stephanie Luke University of Illinois

Stephanie M. Roach San Mateo County Community College District

Sue Luftschein University of Southern California
Tina Gross North Dakota State University

Victoria Lowe SUNY Albany

### Advisory group members:

Alissa McCulloch

Bri Watson University of British Columbia iSchool / Homosaurus

Israel Yáñez California State University, Sacramento

Kalani Adolpho University of Miami

Kat Louro University of Northern British Columbia

Teresa Helena Moreno University of Illinois at Chicago

Tim Thompson Yale University
Whitney Buccicone University of Virginia

#### **Progress and Future Plans**

In late May and early June, several optional information sessions were held for working group members who wanted more information about the current LCSH, LCGFT, etc. submission & approval process, as well as more information about the goals of the working group. These small groups discussed the criteria by which LC's PTCP Division evaluates proposals, as well as the advisory group set up for Library of Congress Demographic Group Terms (which began their advisory role in January 2022).

Next steps for the working group will include researching potential alternative advisory bodies, such as review boards or editorial committees, and brainstorming potential representation models that could work for LC's vocabularies. These ideas will be developed in a report, potentially with pros and cons discussed for idea. The co-chairs intend to have a report ready for SAC's evaluation by January 2023.

Questions or comments should be addressed to the co-chairs, Violet Fox <violetfox@gmail.com> and Jamie Carlstone <jamie.carlstone@northwestern.edu>.