## Resolution Recognizing the Nebraska Library Association's 125th Anniversary

Whereas the Nebraska Library Association (NLA), a state chapter of the American Library Association, celebrates its 125th Anniversary in 2020;

Whereas The first meeting of NLA was held at University Hall at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln, on April 22, 1895, where Mary L. Jones was elected first president of the organization;

## Whereas NLA's mission is:

The Nebraska Library Association supports and promotes all libraries, library media centers and library services in the state. Its foremost concerns are the professional development of its members, library advocacy, and open access to information for all citizens;

Whereas NLA provides funding for its members' continued education through scholarships, including the Louise A. Nixon scholarship for students as they embark on their path to librarianship;

Whereas NLA offers a multitude of professional development opportunities for all library employees in the state through the efforts of our sections and roundtables;

Whereas Since 1981, NLA has helped to present the annual Golden Sower Award, a children's choice award given annually to authors and illustrators as determined by the votes of thousands of school-age readers from across Nebraska; and

Whereas NLA continues to strive to help build and support strong libraries and library workers across the state to serve the people of Nebraska; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, that the American Library Association (ALA), on behalf of its members:

1. Congratulates and commends the Nebraska Library Association (NLA) for 125 years of excellence in promoting library services and the library profession in the state of Nebraska.

Mover: Micki Dietrich, ALA Nebraska Chapter Councilor Seconder: Marie Pyko, ALA Kansas Chapter Councilor

Version: June 8, 2020 2:05 PM CDT