Virtual ALA Council III

Tuesday, June 29, 2021

(Councilor Attendance Required)

4:00-7:00 AM Hawaii Time / 6:00-9:00 AM Alaska Time / 7:00-10:00 AM Pacific Time 8:00-11:00 AM Mountain Time / 9:00 AM-12:00 PM Central Time / 10:00 AM-1:00 PM Eastern Time $\frac{\text{Registration Link}}{\text{Registration Link}}$

Note: you only need to register once for all Council sessions

Presiding Officer: Julius C. Jefferson Jr, ALA President Assisting Presiding Officer: Patty Wong, ALA President-Elect Secretary of Council: Tracie D. Hall, ALA Executive Director

Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Order of Business

| Central Time* | Topic | Presenter/Facilitator |
|-------------------|--|---|
| 9:00 AM – 9:05 AM | Call to Order Introductions and Announcements Establishing the Quorum Consent Agenda Agenda Review, ALA CD#8.8 action item | Julius C. Jefferson Jr, ALA President |
| 9:05 AM – 9:10 AM | Memorials, Tributes and Testimonials: MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS HONORING: — John T. Ma, ALA M#9 — Honoring Dr. Vartan Gregorian, ALA VMD#10 — Kathie Coblentz, ALA VMD#11 — Dr. Henrietta M. Smith, ALA M#12 — Dr. Cheryl McCarthy, ALA M#13 — Eleanor (Penny) Brome, ALA M#14 TRIBUTE RESOLUTIONS RECOGNIZING/HONORING: — Mary Ellen Davis, ALA T#6 | Julius C. Jefferson Jr, ALA President |
| 9:10 AM – 9:40 AM | Report of Officers-cont'd • ALA Treasurer's Report • Budget Update • Approval of the Annual Estimates of Income for FY 2022, ALA CD#13.3 action item • Operating Agreement Workgroup (OAWG) Update, ALA CD#40.1 | Maggie Farrell, ALA Treasurer Maggie Farrell and Andrew Pace, OAWG Co-Chairs |

^{*}The estimated time allowance is for advisory purposes only. If additional time is needed for any item, it will be taken, subject to the wishes of Council.

| Central Time | Topic | Presenter/Facilitator |
|---------------------|---|---|
| 9:40 AM – 10:20 AM | Reports of ALA/Council Committees-cont'd Constitution and Bylaws ALA CD#25-25.1 action item Committee on Professional Ethics, ALA CD#24.1-24.2 action item Intellectual Freedom Committee ALA CD#19.4 action item Committee on Legislation ALA CD#20.3 International Relations Committee ALA CD#18.1 Tellers Report on the COC and PBA Election Results, ALA CD #12.2 | Dr. Ann Ewbank, C&B Chair Stephen L. Matthews, COPE Chair Martin Garnar, IFC Chair Joseph A. Thompson, Jr., COL Chr. Dr. Ismail Abdullahi, IRC Chair XXXX XXXXX, Chair |
| 10:20 AM – 10:30 AM | Break | |
| 10:30 AM – 10:50 AM | Reports of Special Committees Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF), ALA CD#22.1 Protecting Privacy and Safety in Coronavirus Related Library Policy Update Guidance to Libraries, ALA CD#49 Digital Content Working Group Update, ALA CD#51 | Barbara Stripling, FTRF President Tamika Barnes and Maria McCauley, ALA Board Members Leah McGinnis Dunn and Kelvin Watson, DCWG Co-chairs |
| 10:50 AM – 11:50 AM | New Business/Resolutions - RESOLUTION ALA CD#XX action item | Julius C. Jefferson Jr, ALA President |
| 11:50 AM – 11:55 AM | Recognition of Retiring Councilors and Executive Board Members, ALA CD#48 | Julius C. Jefferson Jr, ALA President |
| 11:55 AM – 12:00 PM | Announcements | Tracie D. Hall, ALA Executive Director |
| 12:00 PM | Adjournment | Julius C. Jefferson Jr, ALA President |

^{*}The estimated time allowance is for advisory purposes only. If additional time is needed for any item, it will be taken, subject to the wishes of Council.