2010 AWARDS AND GRANTS



2010 AWARDS AND GRANTS



AASL Collaborative School Library Media Award

Highsmith

The **\$2,500** award, donated by Highsmith Inc., recognizes and hopes to encourage collaboration and partnerships between school library media specialists and teachers in meeting educational goals outlined in *Information Power: Building Partnerships for Learning* through joint planning of a program, unit, or event in support of the curriculum and using media center resources. *Applicants must be AASL personal members*.

AASI Research Gran



The grant, up to **\$5,000** donated by Heinemann-Raintree is awarded to conduct innovative research aimed at measuring and evaluating the impact of school library media programs on learning and education. *Applicants must be AASL personal members*.

ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant

ABC © CLIO

The grant, up to **\$1,750** donated by ABC-CLIO Schools is given to school library media associations that are AASL affiliates for planning and implementing leadership programs at the state, regional, or local levels.

Distinguished School Administrators Award



The **\$2,000** award, donated by ProQuest, is given to a school administrator for developing an exemplary school library media program and making an outstanding and sustained contribution to advancing the role of the school library media center. *Nominations must be made by AASL personal members*.

Distinguished Service Award



The **\$3,000** award, donated by Baker & Taylor Books, recognizes a librarian who has made an outstanding contribution to school librarianship and school library development. *Nominations must be made by AASL personal members*.

Frances Henne Award



The **\$1,250** award, donated by the Greenwood Publishing Group, is given to a school library media specialist with five or fewer years in the profession to attend an AASL National Conference or ALA Annual Conference for the first time. *Applicants must be AASL personal members*.

Information Technology Pathfinder Award



The award, donated by the Follett Software Company, recognizes library media specialists for innovative approaches to information technology in the school library media center. The award, \$1,000 to the school library media specialist and \$500 to the library, is given in two categories – elementary (K-6) and secondary (7-12). Applicants must be AASL personal members.

Innovative Reading Grant

capstone

The grant of **\$2,500**, donated by Capstone Publishing, supports the planning and implementation of a unique and innovative program for children which motivates and encourages reading, especially with struggling readers.

Intellectual Freedom Award



The award, **\$2,000** to the recipient and **\$1,000** to the media center of the recipient's choice donated by ProQuest, recognizes a personal member of AASL who has upheld the principles of intellectual freedom. *Nominations must be made by AASL personal members.*

National School Library Media Program of the Year Award



The award, \$10,000 to each of the three recipients (\$30,000 total) donated by Follett Library Resources, recognizes two single schools and one school district for exemplary school library media programs that are fully integrated into the school's curriculum.

Application deadline is January 4, 2010.



DEADLINE

February 1, 2010, unless otherwise stated.

To apply for an AASL award or grant visit www.ala.org/aasl/awards to download an application.

www.ala.org/aasl