# American Library Association Intellectual Freedom Round Table Executive Committee Agenda 2018 Annual Conference Meeting New Orleans. LA

# Sunday, June 24, 2018

Business Meeting - 3:00-5:00 pm, Morial Convention Center, Room 338-339

- I. CALL TO ORDER & INTRODUCTIONS: Charles Kratz, Chair
- II. REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA
- III. REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF THE 2018 VIRTUAL MEETING MINUTES May 30, 2018: Charles Kratz Action Item
  - a. Reconfirmation of any Virtual Meeting votes.

    Minutes available here: http://www.ala.org/rt/ifrt/meeting-minutes
- IV. REPORT FROM OFFICE OF INTELLECTUAL FREEDOM
- V. IFRT FINANCIAL AND BUDGET REVIEW: Steve Norman, Treasurer Action Item
  - a. Review of/changes to/approval of 2018/2019 IFRT draft budget
- VI. ESTABLISHMENT OF IFRT FUNDRAISING COMMITTEE Action Item
- VII. COORDINATION/RESPONSIBILITY FOR PLANNING IFRT SOCIAL EVENTS Action Item
- VIII. IFRT STRATEGIC PLANNING: Mack Freeman
  - a. Strategic Planning Special Committee
- IX. ROLES FOR IFRT DIRECTORS-AT-LARGE
- X. IFRT OFFICERS UPDATES (INFORMATION/ITEMS SINCE VIRTUAL MEETING)
  - A. Chair: Charles Kratz
    - a. Review of IFRT Breakfast and Raffle
  - B. Chair-Elect: John Mack Freeman
    - a. Reconfirmation of email vote on co-sponsorship (in name only) of Library Confidentiality: Your Privacy is Our Business being proposed by Kate Ross as a 2019 Jury Program.
  - C. Directors: Kristin Joy Anderson, Sheila Bonnard, Sarah Lynn Houghton, Eldon Ray James
  - D. Secretary: Ashley Janet Brown

# XI. REPORT FROM IFRT COUNCILOR: Martin Garnar

- A. Reconfirmation of email vote to support Council resolution to Honor African Americans Who Fought Library Segregation
- B. Other resolutions affecting intellectual freedom that may be presented to the ALA Council from other units or individual members. If so, IFRT will need to review them.

# XII. IFRT STANDING COMMITTEE UPDATES (INFORMATION/ITEMS SINCE VIRTUAL MEETING)

- A. 2018 Program Committee: William Marden
- B. 2018 Nominating Committee: Cyndi Robinson & 2019 Nominating Committee: Charles Kratz
- C. Bylaws and Organization Committee: Cyndi Robinson Action Item
  - a. Approval of IFRT Handbook
- C. Membership Promotion Committee: Wanda Huffaker
- D. Publications & Communications Committee: Eric Johnson
   -Social Media Update Stephanie Barnaby and Keith Weimer
- E. Coalition Building Committee: Larissa Gordon
- F. Merritt Fund Promotion Committee: James Teliha
- G. John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award Committee: Michael Furlong
- H. Eli M. Oboler Award: Laura Kolutsky

### XIII. IFRT LIAISONS REPORTS

**XIV. ALA EXECUTIVE BOARD REPORT:** Trevor Dawes, ALA Executive Board Liaison – we will move the placement of this report based on Trevor's arrival time.

# XV. ANY OTHER BUSINESS THAT MAY PROPERLY COME BEFORE THE ROUND TABLE

# XVI. ADJOURNMENT