Memorial Resolution Honoring Peggy Sullivan

- Whereas the American Library Association (ALA) and the library community lost a valued member, colleague and leader on April 13, 2020, with the death of Peggy Sullivan.
- **Whereas** Peggy Sullivan was among the very few to have served both as President of the American Library Association (1980/81) and as its Executive Director (1992 1994).
- Whereas her career included service as Dean, Graduate School of Library and Information Science, Rosary College (1995-1997), Director and Professor, University Libraries, Northern Illinois University (1990-1992), Dean and Professor, College of Professional Studies, Northern Illinois University (1981-1990), Assistant Commissioner, Chicago Public Library (1977–1981), Dean of Students, University of Chicago Graduate Library School (1974-1977).
- Whereas her professional activities included service as President of ALA's Children's Services Division (now the Association for Library Service to Children ALSC) (1976–1977) and Chair of the Centennial Celebration of the American Library Association (1976).
- **Whereas** one of her enduring interests was reflected in both her service to librarians providing service to children including her service as Director of the Knapp School Libraries Project (1963 1968).
- Whereas that interest led to her creation of the Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators which is an award presented annually to an individual who has shown exceptional understanding and support of public library service to children while having general management/supervisory/administrative responsibility that has included public library service to children in its scope.
- **Whereas** she also presented the Sullivan Award to a faculty member in the NIU (Northern Illinois University) College of Health and Human Sciences for achievement in research.
- **Whereas** she was the 1991 recipient of ALA's Joseph W. Lippincott Award, Distinguished Alumnus Award, School of Library from Catholic University, the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Clarke College, and the Distinguished Service Award, Association for Library Service to Children (2000).
- Whereas she earned her undergraduate degree at Clarke College in Dubuque Iowa, her Master's degree in library science from Catholic University in Washington D.C., and a Doctorate from the University of Chicago Graduate Library School.
- **Whereas** she was the author of numerous professional books and articles on Library Science as well as two books of fiction.
- Whereas she had visited not only every one of our fifty states but also every continent.
- Whereas she was recognized with Honorary Membership in the American Library Association in 2008.
- **Whereas** she attended and was an active participant at ALA conferences up to and including ALA Midwinter 2020 attending many division and roundtable events; and

2019-2020 ALA VMD#3 (Memorial) 2020 ALA Virtual Membership Meeting

Whereas her leadership, energy, and vision inspired several generations of library workers with her humor, dedication, approach-ability and interest in meeting people at all levels making her an exceptional colleague and mentor, now, therefore, be it

Resolved that the American Library Association (ALA), on behalf of its members:

- 1. recognizes the significant contributions of Peggy Sullivan over the course of her career and mourns her death; and
- 2. extends its sincerest condolences to her friends and family.

Mover: Michael A. Golrick, Division Councilor for the Association of Specialized, Government, and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASGCLA); michael.golrick@gmail.com

Seconder: Julie Dietzel-Glair, Division Councilor for the Association for Library Service to Children, julie.dietzelglair@gmail.com

Sara Kelly Johns, ALA Councilor-at-large, skjohns@gmail.com

John DeSantis, former member ALA Executive Board

Kathleen Bethel, former member ALA Executive Board

Terry Switzer, former ALA Treasurer

Ann Symons, former Treasurer and former President, American Library Association

Nancy Kranich, former President, American Library Association

Julie Todaro, former President, American Library Association

James Neal, former President, American Library Association

Sarah Ann Long, former President, American Library Association

Carla Hayden, former President, American Library Association

Mitch Freedman, former President, American Library Association

Betty Turock, former President, American Library Association

Barbara Ford, former President, American Library Association

Molly Raphael, former President, American Library Association

Barbara Stripling, former President, American Library Association

Nancy Bolt, former member ALA Executive Board

Pat Smith, former member ALA Executive Board

Richard Dougherty, former member ALA Executive Board

Diane Chen, former member ALA Executive Board, AASL Division Councilor

Nann Hilyard, former member ALA Executive Board

Kevin Reynolds, former member ALA Executive Board

Rod Hersberger, former Treasurer, American Library Association

Evie Wilson-Lingbloom, former member ALA Executive Board

Endorsed by the ALSC Board

Revised final version – 2020-06-03