American Library Association Intellectual Freedom Round Table Executive Committee Wednesday, Dec. 13, 2017 Virtual Meeting Minutes

Chairperson Kratz called the meeting to order at 12 noon Central Standard Time.

Attending:

Charles Kratz (chairperson), Angela Ocana, Deborah Caldwell-Stone (OIF), Lisa Hoover, Shanna Hollich, Wanda Mae Huffaker, Russ Hall, Bob Holley, Stephanie Barnaby, Eric Johnson, Maureen Cropper, Candace Morgan, Bill Marden, Cyndi Robinson, Eldon Ray James, Sarah Houghton, Shelia Bonnard, Kristin Joy Anderson, Larissa Gordon, Molly Rainard, Laura Koltutsky, Steve Norman, Jessica (IFRT member), Bill Martin, Jamie La Rue (OIF), Kristin Pekoll(OIF), Ellie Diaz (OIF), Ashley J. Brown

Chairperson Kratz presented the agenda to the meeting. Robinson made a motion to approve the agenda. Brown seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Chairperson Kratz introduced Angela Ocana as the IFRT-sponsored ALA Emerging Leader.

Chairperson Kratz presented the minutes to the meeting for approval. Norman made a motion to approve. Cyndi Robinson seconded the motion. No discussion. The motion passed unanimously.

Cyndi Robinson, chair of the nominating committee, presented the slate of candidates for the IFRT executive board. ALA election is March 12-April 11.

Candidates:

Chair-elect-Audrey Barbakoff and Ashley Brown

Secretary: Larissa Gordon and Isabel Klein

Director-at-Large (2): Kristin Joy Anderson, Michael Furlong, Wanda Mae Huffaker, and Eric Johnson

Councilor: Martin Garnar and Julia Warga

Bill Marden, chair of the program committee, presented on his proposed program for Annual Conference in New Orleans. Marden asked for \$700.00 to bring in speaker, Paul Rosenzweig, an expert on privacy and big data. James moved approve the expense. Huffaker seconded. The motion passed.

Cyndi Robinson, chair of the bylaws and organization committee, reported that the committee has been working on a handbook for future IFRT leaders.

Wanda Mae Huffaker, chair of the membership committee, reported that membership numbers are up. Kristin Pekoll commended the committee for reaching out to new members and renewing members. Eric Johnson reported on the publications committee. Stephanie Barnaby and Keith Weimer have been working on social media for IFRT. There was some discussion surrounding ways IFRT could utilize social media.

Larissa Gordon reported on the coalition building committee. Kristin Pekoll reported that the committee is doing a great job building coalitions with the state Intellectual Freedom committees and keeping her informed.

Michael Furlong reported that the Immroth Award had five nominations as of Dec. 1

Laura Kolututsky, chair of the Oboler committee, reported that the call for nominations was extended to Dec. 15. As of the meeting, there were 6 nominations.

IFRT Councilor, Martin Garnar, reported no resolutions had been introduced as of this meeting, but as Midwinter Meeting draws closer that is likely to change. Garnar discussed a petition circulating among ALA members that attempts to put a measure on the ALA spring ballot in an effort to overturn the most recent decision by ALA Council to change the language of the job announcement for the next ALA Executive Director from MLIS preferred back to MLIS required. Mary Ghikas will continue to serve as executive director until the search can move forward after the election ends on April 11.

Report from Jamie La Rue- in 2018, OIF will have 10 more advocacy boot camps around the country. OIF will also be developing a boot camp regarding Law and Libraries including first amendment law, copyright, and liability.

IFRT will meet on Sunday, Feb. 11 at 3-5 p.m. in Colorado Convention Center Room 301. Kristin has added a calendar with all IF related meetings on ALA Connect.

Motion to approve the expenses of \$3,000.00 for a speaker for the IFRT fundraiser. At Annual Conference, IFRT will host a fundraising breakfast with a speaker TBD.

Mack Freeman made motion.

Cyndi Robinson seconded.

Motion passed.

Chairperson Kratz asked for any other business, and as there was none, Huffaker moved to adjourn the meeting.

Garnar seconded the motion.

Motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 1:23 p.m. Central Standard Time.

Respectfully submitted,

Ashley J. Brown, IFRT Secretary