Resolution to Reaffirm ALA's Position on the Freedom to Read

Whereas, ALA will support the work of Unite Against Book Bans, a national campaign to protect the rights of everyone's access to a variety of books, in libraries and elsewhere in its efforts to connect, support and mobilize local advocates to fight book bans in their communities or states:

Whereas, reading is a foundational skill, critical to future learning and to exercising our democratic freedoms:

Whereas, libraries provide access to books that offer teachable moments for readers of all ages and expand our understanding of people with different backgrounds, ideas, and beliefs;

Whereas, books are tools for understanding complex issues;

Whereas, limiting people's access to books does not protect them from life's complex and challenging issues;

Whereas, people deserve to see themselves reflected in a library's collection;

Whereas, librarians are professionals trained to not impose their own thoughts and opinions on which ideas are right, but to make knowledge and ideas available so that people have the freedom to choose what to read;

Whereas, removing and banning books from public libraries or public schools is a slippery slope to government censorship and the erosion of our country's commitment to freedom of expression;

Whereas, a large majority of Americans across the political spectrum oppose book bans; and

Whereas, book bans harm communities; then

RESOLVED, that the American Library Association (ALA), on behalf of its members:

- 1. Endorses the statement that individuals should be trusted to make their own decisions about what they read and believe.
- 2. Asserts parents or other individuals should not be making decisions for other parents' or guardians' children about what they read.
- 3. Reaffirms that it stands united against book bans.
- 4. Continues to act to protect the rights of all to access a variety of books in schools, in libraries, in bookstores, online, and elsewhere.

Mover: Sara Dallas, Executive Board Member

Seconder: Larry Neal, Executive Board Member

Alexandra Rivera, Executive Board Member

2022-2023 ALA CD#55 2023 ALA Annual Conference

Endorser: Sara Kelly Johns, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Adriana Blancarte-Hayward, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Adriene Lim, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Andrea Lapsley, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Kerri Copus, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Tiffeni Fortno, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Kaite Stover, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Steven Yates, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Sophia Sotilleo, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Maggie Farrell, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Kim DeNero-Ackroyd, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Kathy Carroll, ALA Executive Board

Regina Beard, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Karen G. Schneider, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Fannie M. Cox, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Sharaya Olmeda, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Sherry Machones, ALA Councilor-at- Large

Maria Estrella, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Joan Weeks, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Monica Harris, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Rhonda Gould, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Anchalee Panigabutra-Roberts, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Mario M. Gonzalez, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Mandy Nasr, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Oscar Lanza-Galindo, ALA Councilor-at-Large

2022-2023 ALA CD#55 2023 ALA Annual Conference

Joanna Arteaga La Spina, ALA Council-at-Large

Iris Taylor, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Kimberly Knight, ALA Councilor-at-Large

James (Jim) G. Neal, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Gail Tobin, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Eric Gomez, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Kari Mitchell, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Hong Yao, ALA Councilor at Large

Patricia Valeovinos, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Mike L. Marlin, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Ramin Naderi, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Leslie L. Morgan, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Sonnet Ireland, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Alanna Aiko More, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Gina Marie Kromhout, GGRT Councilor

Nora Wiltse, AASL Division Councilor

Kimberly Patton, ALA ALSC Councilor-at-Large

Alesia McManus, RUSA Division Councilor

Kara Whatley, ACRL Division Councilor

Rachel Fleming, CORE Division Councilor

Elizabeth Nebeker, YALSA Division Councilor

Jennifer Ferriss, SustainRT Councilor

Ellen M. Pozzi, LHRT Councilor

Peter Coyl, IFRT Councilor

Barbara Marson, IRRT Councilor

2022-2023 ALA CD#55 2023 ALA Annual Conference

Hallie Pritchett, GODORT Councilor

Samantha Kannegiser, LIRT Councilor

Stephanie Chase, PLA Division Councilor

Ed Garcia, ALA Rhode Island Chapter Councilor

Heather Sostrom, ALA Florida Chapter Councilor

Sarah Mai Schroeder, ALA South Carolina Chapter Councilor

Nadia Orozco-Sahi, ALA New Mexico Chapter Councilor

Paul Mills, ALA Illinois Library Association Chapter Councilor

Dorcas Hand, ALA Texas Chapter Councilor

David Dahl, ALA Maryland Chapter Councilor

Jayne Blodgett, ALA Colorado Chapter Councilor

Rebecca Moorman, ALA Alaska Chapter Councilor

Keturah Cappadonia, ALA New York Chapter Councilor

Heather VanDyne, ALA Kansas Chapter Councilor

Amy Lappin, ALA New Hampshire Chapter Councilor

Robbin Degeratu, ALA Pennsylvania Chapter Councilor

Paula Laurita, ALA Alabama Chapter Councilor

Brenda Ealey, Nebraska Chapter Councilor

Angela Cortellino, George Chapter Councilor

Jessamyn West, Vermont Chapter Councilor

Mariah Ralston, North Dakota Chapter Councilor

Emily Northcutt, Kentucky Chapter Councilor