A TRIBUTE RESOLUTION OF HEARTFELT APPRECIATION HONORING ALA STAFF

Whereas ALA staff responded swiftly and thoughtfully in the face of the 2020 COVID-19 global pandemic;

Whereas ALA staff created structures and processes for virtual governance meetings and hosted several training sessions for Councilors;

Whereas ALA staff facilitated the creation of a virtual event in place of the 2020 Annual Conference in Chicago with only a few months' notice;

Whereas ALA staff worked remotely, across several geographies, to collect information to inform our advocacy work, coordinate COVID-19 Response content and tools, connect with membership and affiliates online, prepare for National Library Week 2020, National Library Legislative Week 2020 and advocate for libraries at the national level;

Whereas ALA staff coordinated and completed a headquarters move during the pandemic;

Whereas ALA staff welcomed a new Executive Director during the pandemic;

Whereas ALA staff upholds the ALA core values of access, confidentiality/privacy, democracy, diversity, education and lifelong learning, intellectual freedom, preservation, the public good, professionalism, service, social responsibility, and sustainability;

Whereas many ALA staff are personal members of ALA; and

Whereas ALA staff are asked to make personal sacrifices in the form of furloughs to support the financial sustainability of the organization, a practice which ALA should take all reasonable steps to minimize or eliminate; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, that the American Library Association (ALA), on behalf of its members:

- 1. recognizes ALA staff for their contributions to the association and libraries everywhere; and
- 2. expresses its appreciation and gratitude to all ALA staff for their tireless work.

Mover: Ann Ewbank, Councilor-at-large

Seconders:

Tara Brady, SRRT Councilor Ed Garcia, Executive Board Sam Helmick, Iowa Chapter Councilor Raymond Pun, Councilor at Large

2019-2020 ALA Tribute #10 2020 ALA Virtual Council Meeting

Emily Clasper, Councilor at Large Audrey Barbakoff, Councilor-at-Large Karen E. Downing, Councilor at Large Meredith E. Wickham, Mississippi Chapter Councilor Erin Stalberg, ALCTS Division Councilor Jonathan Newton, South Carolina Chapter Councilor Meg Delaney, Ohio Chapter Councilor Michelle Ornat, Councilor-at-Large Andrew B. Wertheimer, Hawai'i Chapter Councilor Dorcas Hand, Councilor-at-Large Mary Glendening, Councilor at-Large Em Claire Knowles, Councilor-at-Large Anchalee (Joy) Panigabutra-Roberts, Councilor at Large Larry Neal, Councilor-at-Large Stephanie Chase, PLA Division Councilor Shannon DeSantis Gile, Councilor-at-Large Martin Garnar, IFRT Councilor Trevor A. Dawes, ALA Life Member, Executive Board Sandy Hirsh, IRRT Councilor Rivkah Sass, LLAMA Division Councilor Ann K. Symons, Councilor-at-Large Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada, Executive Board Lorelei Sterling, Alaska Chapter Councilor Sara Dallas, Councilor-at-Large Lori Fisher, New Hampshire Chapter Councilor Beth Munk, Indiana Chapter Councilor Eileen M. Palmer, New Jersey Chapter Councilor Hannah Buckland, Minnesota Chapter Councilor Brian Boling, FMRT Councilor Christina Rodrigues, NMRT Councilor Joan S. Weeks, Councilor-at-Large Katie Cerqua, Councilor-at-Large David Dahl, Maryland Chapter Councilor Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA Executive Board Keturah Cappadonia, Councilor-at-Large Sara Kelly Johns, Councilor-at-Large Holly Hibner, Councilor-at-Large Mary Anne Hodel, Councilor-At-Large Julie Dietzel-Glair, ALSC Division Councilor Johana Orellana Cabrera, Councilor-at-Large Karen G. Schneider, Executive Board Matthew Bollerman, SustainRT Councilor Joyce Valenza, Councilor-at-Large Jodie Gambill, LITA Division Councilor Louis Muñoz Jr., Councilor-at-Large Dora T. Ho, Councilor-at-Large Gail Tobin, Councilor-at-Large=

2019-2020 ALA Tribute #10 2020 ALA Virtual Council Meeting

Susan Jennings, Tennessee Chapter Councilor Aaron W Dobbs, Small Round Tables Councilor Eric Suess, Councilor-at-large Mike Marlin, Councilor-at-large Diane Chen, AASL Division Councilor Jim Neal, Councilor-at-large Deb Sica, Rainbow RT Councilor Heather Sostrom, Florida Chapter Councilor Jennifer Joe, Library Research Roundtable Councilor Sherry Machones, Wisconsin Chapter Councilor Amy Spence Lappin, Councilor-at-Large Sarah Robbins, Oklahoma Chapter Councilor Kathleen Moeller-Peiffer, Councilor-at-Large Elissia Buell, Councilor-at-Large Muzhgan Nazarova, Councilor-at-Large Erica Ann Watson, Councilor-at-Large Jay Dela Cruz, Councilor-at-Large Peter Hepburn, Councilor At-Large Maggie Farrell, ALA Treasurer Lacy Wolfe, Arkansas Chapter Councilor Dan Stanton, AZ Chapter Councilor Jennifer Boettcher, Councilor-at large Romelia Salinas, Councilor-at-large Pat Hogan, Executive Board and Councilor Emerita

Version: 6/26/2020, 9:20 AM PST