Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Suggestion
Diane Baden's picture

ALCTS Webinar: Cataloging icky things, or, If you can catalog a book, you can catalog anything!

When: 
Wednesday, February 24, 2010
1:00 pm to 2:00 pm, US/Central

Description:

Do you have “icky stuff” like kits, DVDs, and models in a backroom that you want to add to your collection but you can’t find a MARC record for it? Has it been years since you have had to catalog anything and you think you have forgotten how? Did you finish your cataloging class in library school thinking you would never have to do that again but now you have to? Well this webinar can help!

Starting with a quick review of how to catalog a book, this webinar will then move to cataloging CDs and kits, DVDs and Playaways, and then whatever else you may have hidden in that backroom. You will get tips and cheats that will allow you to create a full-level MARC record so that you can move things out of that backroom and into your collection.

Presenter:

Pamela J. Newberg is an Assistant Professor and Manager of Resource Processing and Description (otherwise known as Cataloging) at the University of Northern Colorado. In her previous life, Pam was the Manager of the Cataloging Department for Follett Library Resources in McHenry, Illinois. Pam holds a trio of higher education degrees, including a MLS from Dominican University, a MM from DePaul University and a MAT from National-Louis University. Pam has a unique array of experience having worked as a cataloger, children’s librarian, automation librarian and teacher in a number of settings including school, public, academic and special libraries. Pam has been involved with the Cataloging of Children’s Materials Committee of ALCTS for the past twelve years as a vendor liaison, member, and, for2008-2010, as chair.

Wednesday, February 24, 2010 at 2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, noon Mountain, and 11am Pacific time

Length of webinar: 1 hour

For additional details and registration information see:

http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alcts/confevents/upcoming/webinar/0224...