Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Suggestion
Jenny Levine (staff)'s picture

General MentorConnect Help

  1. How do I join MentorConnect?
  2. What’s the difference between my Connect profile and my MentorConnect profile?
  3. Who can see my MentorConnect profile?
  4. How do I leave feedback for my mentor/mentee?
  5. What’s listed on the “All Feedback” page?
  6. How long will a mentorship remain in MentorConnect?
  7. How do I close/end a mentorship?
  8. How do I remove myself from appearing in the MC search results while still maintaining my current mentorships?
  9. I don’t have time to mentor right now, but I want to keep my profile. How can I temporarily remove myself from appearing in the MC search results?
  10. How do I remove myself from MentorConnect?
  11. Why don't I show up in the mentor/mentee search results?
  12. Don't see your question listed here? Check other MentorConnect help documents, leave a comment, or use the contact us form to ask it.

 



 

  1. How do I join MentorConnect?
    Look for a link to MentorConnect in the left-hand column, underneath your name. Alternatively, you’ll always have a special tab for MC on your profile. Once there, you’ll see a welcome message and explanation until you join. MentorConnect is completely opt-in. And yes, you can join, create a profile, and look around a little without jumping into the deep end and getting in over your head. If you look around and decide MentorConnect isn’t for you right now, just edit your MC profile and un-check the boxes for registering as a mentor and/or mentee.

     

  2. What’s the difference between my Connect profile and my MentorConnect profile?
    Your ALA Connect profile includes general information from our member database, and you have one by default (unless you’ve excluded yourself from appearing in the ALA Member Directory via your ALA website profile). Any ALA member can see what’s on your Connect profile. Conversely, your MentorConnect profile doesn’t exist until you create and populate it with mentoring-specific information. Only other members who have joined MC can see it.

     

  3. Who can see my MentorConnect profile?
    Your MentorConnect profile can be seen only by other ALA members who have proactively joined MentorConnect. ALA will never expose your MC profile to non-members or the public. Ever. Unlike your ALA Connect, which you can choose to display publicly, your MC profile can never be set to “public.”

     

  4. How do I leave feedback for my mentor/mentee?
    To leave feedback that gets archived in MentorConnect, log in to ALA Connect, go to MentorConnect, click on either “my mentors” or “my mentees” (depending on which type of person you’re leaving feedback for), find the mentorship you’re interested in, and click on the “feedback” link for it. This will take you to the mentorship’s page, where you can click on the “Add new feedback” link.

    The other person will get an email notice containing your feedback, and they’ll be able to log in and reply. You’ll then get an email notice containing that reply. You can reply back and forth as many times as you’d like, or you can start a new thread using the “add new feedback” link when you’re ready to start a new topic.

     

  5. What’s listed on the “All Feedback” page?
    This page lists all of your feedback from all of your mentorships, arranged by date, with the most recent feedback at the top of the page. It includes comments made by you and by others. It’s a good way to quickly scan the newest feedback left for you, as well as your recent mentorship conversations. Comments are color-coded by mentorship to make scanning easier. To go to a mentorship to see all feedback for it, click on the name of it in the right-hand column.

     

  6. How long will a mentorship remain in MentorConnect?
    A mentorship will remain in Connect forever so that you’ll always be able to refer back to when someone was in a mentorship with you, including the feedback. A mentorship can be closed by the mentee at any time, but it will still appear in the “past mentors” and “past mentees” section of the profiles for the two people involved.

     

  7. How do I close/end a mentorship? 
    A mentee or a mentor can close a mentorship at any time by doing the following:
    1. Go to "my mentors" or "my mentees" to find the mentorship you want to close.
    2. Click on the mentorship’s “feedback” link.
    3. Click on the “edit” link next to the mentorship name.
    4. Check the “close this mentorship” box and then the “save” button.

    This will send a notification to the other person that the mentorship has been closed. The mentoring relationship will now appear under the “past mentors” and “past mentees” sections in each person’s MC profile. All feedback is archived, along with the mentorship, plus you’ll be able to refer back to the exact dates for everything.

     

  8. How do I remove myself from appearing in the MC search results while still maintaining my current mentorships?
    If you want to keep your MC profile but not appear in the search results as a potential mentor/mentee anymore, simply edit your MC profile and un-check the box for registering as a mentor or mentee. When you’re ready for mentoring again, simply edit your profile and check the box again. This will put you back in the pool of potential mentors.

     

  9. I don’t have time for mentoring right now, but I want to keep my profile. How can I temporarily remove myself from appearing in the MC search results?
    If you want to keep your MC profile but not appear in the search results as a potential mentor/mentee anymore, simply edit your MC profile and un-check the box for registering as a mentor or mentee. If you have existing mentorships, you'll need to go to each one and end/close them. When you’re ready for mentoring again, simply edit your MC profile and check the "register" box again. This will put you back in the pool of potential mentors/mentees.

     

  10. How do I remove myself from MentorConnect?
    To remove yourself from MentorConnect altogether, edit your MC profile and un-check the "register" buttons for being a mentor and/or mentee.

     

  11. Why don't I show up in the mentor/mentee search results?
    If you're looking for yourself in the search results, you won't see you, because you can't mentor yourself.  :-)

    If someone else is looking for you, there are two possible reasons they can't find you in the results:

    1. You already have the number of mentors/mentees set as the maximum in your profile. For example, if you set the max number of folks you'll mentor at once to two and you have two mentees, we remove you from the search results. Conversely, if you set that option to "None," you won't appear in the results.
    2. You haven't checked the box when editing your MC profile to appear in the search results.