Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Suggestion
ALAConnect Helpdesk (staff)'s picture

Frequently Asked Questions about Creating a Community

  1. What kinds of topics are acceptable for new communties in ALA Connect?
    Pretty much any topic that is in some way related to ALA, libraries, librarians, library workers, or librarianship. Connect is designed to let members discuss and work on issues of importance to them, and we don't want to put up any barriers to that. However, we do reserve the right to remove inappropriate groups that violate our user guidelines.

     

  2.  How do I create a new community?
    There's a separate document titled How to Create a Community in ALA Connect that has step-by-step instructions.

     

  3. Can I edit my community's settings later if I change my mind?
    Yes, you can modify your community's settings at any time. The only thing you won't be able to change after you create your community is its URL. You can edit everything else, though.

     

  4. How many people can join my community in Connect?
    We don't think there's a limit on the number of people who can join your community. There are more than 60,000 members in Connect, and some divisions have quite a large number of members (eg, ACRL). Let us know if you think you're running into any limits/problems, though.

     

  5. Can I create a community that anyone can join? 
    Yes, and in fact we encourage you to create open communities by selecting the "open" option for type of membership.

  6. Can I create a community that only a few select people can join?
    Yes, you can choose the "moderated," "invite only," or "closed" options when creating your community. "Moderated" means anyone can request to join, but you'll have to approve the request. "Invite only" means you'll have to manually add people to your community, but they'll be able to leave on their own. "Closed" means you'll have to add and remove all members of the community.

    Note that the "Invite a friend" link only appears on "open" and "moderated" communities.

    The ALAConnect Helpdesk will always be an admin for every community created. If you or your community's members need help at any point, feel free to contact the Helpdesk profile in your roster of members.

     

  7. Can I create a community that is completely hidden from everyone else?
    Yes. To create a community that is hidden from everyone but the members of the group, check the "private group" box when you're creating your community. Please note, though, that your community will not be listed in the "Browse ALA Connect" guide, and you cannot choose the "open" option for type of membership.

    The ALAConnect Helpdesk will always be an admin for every community created. If you or your community's members need help at any point, feel free to contact the Helpdesk profile in your roster of members.

     

  8. Can my community be listed under more than one category?
    Yes, you can list your community under as many categories as you like, although ALA reserves the right remove irrelevant or inappropriate subject headings from your group. To select more than one category, hold down the (Control) key when clicking on the names of the categories.

     

  9. Is ALA monitoring which new communities get created in ALA Connect?
    Yes, ALA staff members receive email notices whenever a new community is created, and we compare the title, description, and mission to the ALA Connect user guidelines to make sure the community adheres to the spirit of the site. ALA reserves the right to delete inappropriate groups that violate those guidelines and remove the community creator's access to ALA Connect.

     

  10. Can I delete my community?
    Yes, you can delete your community at any time by clicking on the "edit" tab on your group's home page, scrolling to the bottom, and clicking on the "delete" button. You will be prompted to make sure you really want to delete this community. To finalize the deletion, click on the "submit" button.

    Please note that deletions of communities are permanent, and they cannot be restored. Please consider the ramifications of your actions carefully before deleting a community. Really, we mean it will disappear from the face of the Earth forever.

     

  11. Don't see your question listed here? Contact us for an answer or leave a comment.
David Vess's picture

Does having closed membership but NOT a private group mean that anyone on Connect can see that group's documents, polls, etc.?  (I'm hoping so but I can't see of course since I'm in the group/started it)  Thanks!

Jenny Levine (staff)'s picture

Good question. Having closed membership but NOT a private group means that anyone in Connect can see that group's *public* documents, polls, etc. By default, non-group members see a non-private group, but nothing in it. You have to check the "public" box for non-group members to see something in a non-private group.

Non-group members will never see anything in a private group, regardless of whether the "public" box is checked or not. In this case, private meets "invisible."

Does that help, David? Let me know if it's clear as mud. :)

Jenny