Warning message

ALA Connect User logins are disabled for a temporary "gray-out" period, to prevent new posts while we upgrade into the New Connect. This gray-out period will begin on March 26th, and the new site will be launched on April 25th.

Users can use Search to view public content. Logins will be reinstated and users can create new posts, upload files, etc. post launch.

Thank you for your patience in cooperation. Check out training resources and schedule at:
http://www.ala.org/support/alaconnect

Or contact Julianna Kloeppel for training or Pam Akins with questions/concerns.
Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Suggestion
Francis Lapka's picture

Bibliographic Standards Committee Virtual Meeting: RBMS Policy Statements

When: 
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
11:00 am to 12:00 pm, US/Eastern

Bibliographic Standards Committee Virtual Meeting:
RBMS Policy Statements
Date: April 4, 2018
Time: 8-9 AM PDT / 9-10 AM MDT / 10-11 AM CDT / 11 AM-Noon EDT
Zoom: https://ucsd.zoom.us/j/412368886

1. Introduction (what are the RBMS PS) and project status

 

2. Proposed timeline for completion/next steps

Timeline by Date (Google Doc)

Timeline by Task (Google Doc)

3. Discussion item: Relationship of RBMS PS to LC-PCC PS and BIBCO Standard Record (BSR) and CONSER Standard Record (CSR)
• The current drafts of the RBMS PS do not assume application of LC-PCC PS. When the same outcome as the LC-PCC PS is desired, the RBMS PS either provide similar instruction or reference the LC-PCC PS.
• The current BSR include rare materials cataloging provisions that serve as a cheat sheet for creating hybrid DCRM/RDA records. Francis and Michelle started discussion with PCC about whether to maintain rare material cataloging provisions within the BSR and CSR proper once the RBMS PS are complete. At this point, the PCC Standing Committee on Standards would like to keep options open and not make any final decisions until seeing the completed RBMS PS.

4. Summary of DCRM-L discussion questions (RBMS PS Review Google Drive Folder) (Time permitting)