Warning message

ALA Connect User logins are disabled for a temporary "gray-out" period, to prevent new posts while we upgrade into the New Connect. This gray-out period will begin on March 26th, and the new site will be launched on April 25th.

Users can use Search to view public content. Logins will be reinstated and users can create new posts, upload files, etc. post launch.

Thank you for your patience in cooperation. Check out training resources and schedule at:
http://www.ala.org/support/alaconnect

Or contact Julianna Kloeppel for training or Pam Akins with questions/concerns.
Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Suggestion
Raymond Pun's picture

Webinar: Language minorities = 404 page not found

Title: Language minorities = 404 page not found 
 
Date/Time: 10/12, Thursday at 10 am PST/12 pm CST/1 pm EST
 
Recorded Webinar Link: https://youtu.be/RZRnNDkToRw

Abstract and Speaker: Laurie Bridges, Instruction and Outreach Librarian, will talk about the situation of linguistic diversity on the internet. The fact that most of the content is accessible in only the most frequently spoken languages in the world is obviously an obstacle for universal freedom of access to information but also for freedom of expression. Indeed, an opinion expressed in English has a far bigger audience and therefore more weight, than an opinion expressed in an infrequent native language. What is the situation regarding these issues today (facts and figures)? Are there projects going on around the world to address this issue? Did social media bring some progress since the 2000’s?

Note: This presentation was sponsored by IFLA's FAIFE Committee (Freedom to Access Information and Freedom of Expression)