Warning message

The launch of the new ALA Connect, scheduled for April 25, 2018, has been delayed due to technical issues. During final testing some critical issues related to navigation, tagging, and the structure of parent-child relationships were discovered.

The vendor is working to resolve these issues. We apologize for the delay and thank you for your patience.

While we're waiting to get started, please check out the resources and training on the support site. We'll keep you updated, in particular, we will communicate when we have a firm launch date.

If you have questions, please feel free to contact Pam Akins, Community Engagement Specialist, at alaconnectmigration@ala.org.
Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Veronica Arellano-Douglas's picture

Spectrum Scholar News & Accomplishments - May 2016

Greetings Scholars!

In a continuing effort to build our Spectrum community, take a moment to read and celebrate the following honors and accomplishments of your fellow Scholars:

Bradley Kuykendall (2014 Scholar), Reference and Instruction Librarian at Lincoln University, was recently nominated to the BCALA Executive Board.

Nicole Cooke (2008 Spectrum Doctoral Fellow) was honored with the American Library Association Equality Award. 

​Bergis Jules (2008 Scholar) is the keynote speaker for Digital Preservation 2016 in Milwaukee. He will be discussing the power and promise of diversity and inclusivity in digital preservation work.

José Aponte, San Diego County Library Director, will be biking across America to raise awareness and funds for the Spectrum Scholarship Program. He will be riding with Cycle America from Seattle to Boston. You can help fund his ride via Crowdrise.

Anita-Marie Martinez (2015 Scholar) is the Reforma Los Angeles Chapter 2016 Elizabeth Martinez Scholarship awardee. 

James E. Soucé (1998 Scholar) assistant manager, technical services, New York Public Library, recently wrote a blog post for the New York Public Libraries blog.

Aimee Babcock-Ellis (2007 Scholar) received a Food & Drug Administration Honor Award for cross-cutting project for 2015.

Charlotte Roh, is the new Scholarly Communications Librarian at the University of San Francisco.

Leni Matthews, (2010 Scholar) was recently selected to participate at the Institute for Research Design in Librarianship (IRDL).

Kelly Lynn Anders (2014 Scholar), Executive Director, Jackson County Law Library, graduated with a library degree from the University of Missouri. She also  published her third book in 2015, The Organized Lawyer, Second Edition. 

Tamika Barnes (1998 Scholar) was recently promoted to Department Head, Perimeter College Library Services following the consolidation of Georgia Perimeter College and Georgia State University in Atlanta, GA.

April Hathcock, (2012 Scholar) was the opening speaker at the 2016 LACUNY Institute -- Race Matters: Libraries, Racisim, and Antiracism.

In fact, MANY! Scholars were speakers at the 2016 LACUNY Institute, including:

  • Nicole Cooke, who presented Interrogating Racism and Exploring Identity in LIS Classrooms  Collaborative Autoethnography in Social Justice Education, with Robin Kurz

  • Anthony Bishop, who presented Breaking the Glass Ceiling: Exploring the Issues African-American Librarians Face

  • Charlotte Roh, who presented Inequalities of Scholarly Publishing

  • Tahirah Akbar-Williams, who presented Black Feminist Librarianship

  • Alexandra Rivera, who presented Missing Persons: Finding Multiracial Resources in a Monoracially-Organized Library World, with Helen Look and Karen E. Downing

  • Brenda Mitchell-Powell, who presented The 1939 Sit-in Demonstration to Integrate the Alexandria, Virginia, Public Library: Hierarchies of Dominance, Power, and Control in Library Access for Blacks

  • Patricia Cortez Valdovinos, who presented Dissecting the Relationship Between Public Libraries and #BlackLivesMatter    

Get a new job recently? Publish a paper? Win a scholarship or award? Present at a conference?
We love highlighting accomplishments from all Scholars! Share personal updates or promote your fellow scholars by emailingspectrum@ala.org.
Also: Share any Spectrum events in your area with us at spectrum@ala.org and we'll promote them.
Yvonne Ivey
on behalf of the Spectrum Advisory Committee