Warning message

The launch of the new ALA Connect, scheduled for April 25, 2018, has been delayed due to technical issues. During final testing some critical issues related to navigation, tagging, and the structure of parent-child relationships were discovered.

The vendor is working to resolve these issues. We apologize for the delay and thank you for your patience.

While we're waiting to get started, please check out the resources and training on the support site. We'll keep you updated, in particular, we will communicate when we have a firm launch date.

If you have questions, please feel free to contact Pam Akins, Community Engagement Specialist, at alaconnectmigration@ala.org.
Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Suggestion
Beth Roszkowski's picture

Academic Outreach Online Roundtable Discussions: Outreach Programming for Student Orientations

The next round of the ULS Academic Outreach Committee's Online Roundtable Discussions will take place the week of April 4th.

Each discussion will last 1 hour and be limited to 9 participants and 1 facilitator (like a face-to-face roundtable discussion).  All discussions will be hosted on Google Hangouts on Air. The sessions will be recorded and posted to the ACRL ULS Academic Outreach Committee YouTube Channel. Past discussions are posted there now.

April's Topic: Outreach Programming for Student Orientations

This month’s discussion will focus on how libraries approach various orientation activities.  We will talk about new student and transfer orientations typically held in the summer as well as the myriad of activities offered to welcome students back in the fall.  Come prepared to talk about what you’re doing, share programming ideas, successes and lessons learned, and discuss the logistics of specific events. Join us for a lively discussion and leave with great ideas for future programming.

Monday, April 4th            9am PST / 10am MST / 11am CST / 12pm EST  register

Tuesday, April 5th          10am PST / 11am MST / 12pm CST / 1pm EST  register

Wednesday, April 6th      11am PST / 12pm MST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST  register

Thursday, April 7th         12pm PST / 1pm MST / 2pm CST / 3pm EST  register


To register, select a date/time above and click the “register” link. You will need a valid Gmail account to participate.

Discussions are limited in numbers to encourage active discussion from all participants, varying in expertise. Participants must have a microphone in order to participate. Those interested in observing the discussion are encouraged to watch the live broadcast or review the recordings on our YouTube Channel

Instructions for accessing the discussion in Google Hangouts on Air will be sent to participants by email.