Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Suggestion
John Glover's picture

ACRL LES Reference Discussion Group Virtual Meeting

When: 
Monday, February 9, 2015
1:00 pm to 2:00 pm, US/Central

Name: ACRL LES Reference Discussion Group-Feb 9

Start Time: 02/09/2015 11:00 AM Pacific
Start Time: 02/09/2015 12:00 PM Mountain
Start Time: 02/09/2015 1:00 PM Central
Start Time: 02/09/2015 2:00 PM Eastern

Duration: 01:00 hour

URL: http://ala.adobeconnect.com/r73miald7s2/

Access: Anyone who has the URL for the meeting can enter the room

Planned Discussion Questions:

1. What are literature scholars doing that could fit under the Digital Humanities umbrella, but doesn't -- whether going under a different name, or otherwise distanced from the DH "brand?"

2. How are you working with your faculty and students on Open Access initiatives? Or how are you advocating for your faculty and students around Open Access in your libraries’ initiatives?

3. Mentee, practicum student, or student assistant: what are the differences, and how can we nurture them while making effective use of their time?

4. Wrap-up: What reference-type resource would we most like to have in a digital format that doesn't yet exist digitally, either because the print version hasn't yet been converted into a database or because there's never been such a resource in any format?

Here are a few tips for connecting:
1. Adobe Connect has recently updated their software. When you log-in, you may notice a screen asking you to install the add-in. If you click “yes,” the update will install in about 20-30 seconds. You may need to complete the audio setup wizard after installing the add-in.
2. Use Firefox, if possible -- Internet Explorer and Chrome seem to have some issues.
3. Make certain you have an updated version of Flash.
4. Only use PDF or PPT files.
5. You will need a headset for VoIP. If you are using a machine with a built-in microphone, you will need to disable the built-in microphone and enable the microphone on your headset (a USB headset is best).
6. Once you enter Adobe Connect (you will sign in as a guest -- so no log-in is needed), you will need to click on the speaker and microphone icons to activate -- both need to be GREEN.
7. Please allow a few minutes to get in and test your audio, etc. before the start time.
8. To test audio, click on ‘Meeting’ in upper left corner. Choose the audio set-up wizard. Click through every step, making sure the dropdown is set to your USB headset, and click through to the very last screen. IMPORTANT: You must click all the way through the audio wizard in order to save your selections.

********************
If you have never attended an Adobe Connect meeting before:
· Test your connection: http://ala.adobeconnect.com/common/help/en/support/meeting_test.htm
· Get a quick overview: http://www.adobe.com/products/adobeconnect.html