Warning message

ALA Connect User logins are disabled for a temporary "gray-out" period, to prevent new posts while we upgrade into the New Connect. This gray-out period will begin on March 26th, and the new site will be launched on April 25th.

Users can use Search to view public content. Logins will be reinstated and users can create new posts, upload files, etc. post launch.

Thank you for your patience in cooperation. Check out training resources and schedule at:

Or contact Julianna Kloeppel for training or Pam Akins with questions/concerns.
Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Kelly McElroy's picture

Over the Rainbow (OTR) 2014 ALA Annual Committee Report

The aim of the Over the Rainbow (OTR) project has been to further the mission of the GLBTRT by promoting the improved quality and accessibility of GLBTQ literature through the provision for adult readers of an annual annotated bibliography of books. 

During ALA Midwinter Conference in Philadelphia, the 2014 Over the Rainbow Project book list featured 71 titles published between July 2012 and December 2013. 

The committee membership was confirmed in February, although we lost one member in April. Our current roster of jurors includes: Kelly McElroy (chair), Iowa City, IA; Robert Graziano (Immediate Past-Chair), Chicago, IL; Rebecca Butler, Valparaiso, IN; Dave Combe, Ventura, CA; Annaliese Fidgeon, Northridge, CA; Jessica Jones, Santa Fe, NM; Rosalinda Hernandez Linares, Louisville, KY; Derek Marshall, West Point, MS; and Matthew Windsor, Conway, AR. 

The committee members continue to locate, read, discuss, and recommend titles. We continue to receive positive responses from publishers and authors, and we thank them for their support. 

On recommendation from the GLBTRT Board, we have removed the word "nominated" and its variations from our website, replaced with "recommended for consideration." We are working to update the OTR Procedures to post to the committee page. 

As of May, members of the committee have recommended 62 books for consideration for the final list.

Respectfully -- though tardily -- submitted,

Kelly McElroy