Warning message

ALA Connect User logins are disabled for a temporary "gray-out" period, to prevent new posts while we upgrade into the New Connect. This gray-out period will begin on March 26th, and the new site will be launched on April 25th.

Users can use Search to view public content. Logins will be reinstated and users can create new posts, upload files, etc. post launch.

Thank you for your patience in cooperation. Check out training resources and schedule at:

Or contact Julianna Kloeppel for training or Pam Akins with questions/concerns.
Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Rachel Vacek's picture

2014-2015 Board Liaison Assignments

Hi, everyone!

I promised to start this discussion before Annual so that new liaisons could potentially meet with their committees at Annual.  Most committees meet during Saturday morning's 10:30 - 12:00 Joint committees slot; all meetings are in the scheduler.

Our current list is below.  I've removed outgoing board members Zoe Stewart-Marshall, John Blyberg, David Lee King, and Lauren Pressley. I also removed Rachel from Program Planning and Tech & Access, as the President traditionally has not liaised with a committee other than the relevant Forum planning committee.  We don't have to continue that tradition, but I'm sure Rachel would appreciate it.

  • Assessment & Research - Cody Hanson
  • Awards & Scholarships -  Mary Taylor
  • Education - Andromeda Yelton
  • 2014 Forum - Cindi Blyberg
  • 2015 Forum - Rachel Vacek
  • Publications - Thomas Dowling
  • International Relations - 
  • Membership Development - Jenny Reiswig 
  • Technology & Access -   Aimee Fifarek
  • Top Technology Trends - Bohyun Kim
  • Program Planning - Ranti Junus
  • Web Coordinating - Jenny Emanuel Taylor
  • IG & Committee Chair Coordinators - Rachel Vacek
  • ALA Council - Aaron Dobbs 
  • Bylaws & Organization - Jason Griffey (chair)
  • Financial Advisory - Zoe Stewart-Marshall (chair)

Incoming members, please take a look at the list of our Standing Committees and their charges, and think about which committee you'd like to liaise with.  Thomas, you'll already have a heavy load, so volunteer with caution. :) Andromeda, Jenny, & Cody--are you happy with your assignments?  Everyone: edit the doc and add your name as you like. Rock, paper, scissors, Spock to settle arguments.

Loose ends:

  • We need to decide how to handle Awards committees--we've variously had a single liaison for all awards or had the Executive Director liaise directly with them.  
  • We need to have a discussion about the future of International Relations and Technology & Access.
  • We may need to add FAC to this list.
Andromeda Yelton's picture

I'm happy with my assignment (and would prefer to have only one committee -- Education's pretty time-consuming).

LITA Board of Directors, 2013-2019; President-Elect, 2017-2018

Thomas Dowling's picture

Since I'm rolling off of pubs, it might make sense for me to serve as their liaison.

Aimee Fifarek's picture

I spent a number of years on that committee, including as chair, so the scope is familiar to me.  Happy to take another one as well if needed.

Cody Hanson's picture

Happy to continue on A&R.

S.G. Ranti Junus's picture

I involved in PPC for several years and was a chair before. I'd be more than happy to be the liaison for PPC. 

Jennifer E. Taylor's picture

I'd be happy to take the Web Coordinating.

Aaron Dobbs's picture

Well, I got elected to go to the zoo so I guess I don't have a choice ;)


"Always remember everyone is working to make the organization better in their own way."
-Eli Mina, ALA Parliamentarian

Jennifer Reiswig's picture

I'm happy to stay with Membership but if someone else would like it that's OK. 

Bohyun Kim's picture

I have been on TTT  for 3  years. So I am happy to be a liaison to TTT! I am also happy to help with IGs since there are a great number of them if needed.

Andromeda Yelton's picture

I can't recall who the Communications liaison is, and this doc hasn't been updated to reflect that - can someone who knows edit it? Thanks.

LITA Board of Directors, 2013-2019; President-Elect, 2017-2018

Aimee Fifarek's picture

Since Tech Access was disbanded I'm available to take on a new committee. - a

Aimee Fifarek's picture

Cody Hanson: Assessment and Research

Aimee Fifarek: Communications and Marketing

Andromeda Yelton:  Education (Webinar pilot Action Item)

Cindi Blyberg:  Albuquerque Forum Planning Committee (Nov 2014)

Rachel Vacek: Minneapolis Forum Planning Committee (Nov 2015)

Thomas Dowling: Publications

Ranti Junus: Program Planning (Preconferences Action Item)

Mary Taylor: Awards Committees

Jenny Reiswig:  Membership/Development

Bohyun Kim: Top Technology Trends

Jennifer Emanuel Taylor: Web Coordinating