Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Mark Hudson's picture

Progressive Librarians Guild Meeting and Conversation

Sunday, June 29, 2014
4:30 pm to 5:30 pm, US/Pacific

Sunday, June 29, 4:30 - 5:30 p.m., Las Vegas Convention Center N211

Denise Scott, 2014 winner of the Miriam Braverman Memorial Prize, will give a brief presentation about her paper “Deconstructing the ‘Books for Boys’ Discourse.” Scott’s paper examines the “Books for Boys” rhetoric, which labels some books as being specifically “boy books” in order to encourage boys to read. The paper analyzes the prescriptive nature of gendering and the problems that accompany the discourse’s reliance on gender stereotyping.
Also on the agenda: John Chrastka, Executive Director at EveryLibrary, the first nationwide Political Action Committee for libraries, will speak about EveryLibrary and answer questions. EveryLibrary is an organization dedicated exclusively to political action at a local level to create, renew, and protect public funding for libraries of all types. It provides tactical and operational support to local voter awareness campaigns, seed and sustaining monies to local ballot committees and PACs, as well as conducting direct voter advocacy in support of library taxing, bonding, and referendum.
For more information:
2014 Braverman Award Winner Announcement
EveryLibrary: Building Voter Support for Libraries