Warning message

ALA Connect User logins are disabled for a temporary "gray-out" period, to prevent new posts while we upgrade into the New Connect. This gray-out period will begin on March 26th, and the new site will be launched on April 25th.

Users can use Search to view public content. Logins will be reinstated and users can create new posts, upload files, etc. post launch.

Thank you for your patience in cooperation. Check out training resources and schedule at:

Or contact Julianna Kloeppel for training or Pam Akins with questions/concerns.
Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Megan Drake's picture

2014 Diversity Council list of candidates for ALA Council

Dear colleagues,

The ALA Diversity Council, the representative body for ALA and ALA-affiliated organizations that promote the needs of traditionally underrepresented groups, compiles a list each year of members of our constituent organizations who are running for ALA Council.

These organizations include:

  • American Indian Library Association (AILA)
  • Asian Pacific Librarians Association (APALA)
  • Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA)
  • Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA)
  • REFORMA (the national association to promote library and information services to Latinos and the Spanish speaking)
  • Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT), and
  • the following interest groups of the Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA):
    • Alzheimer's & Related Dementias Interest Group
    • LSSP (Libraries Serving Special Populations) Bridging Deaf Cultures @ your library Interest Group
    • LSSP (Libraries Serving Special Populations) Library Services to People with Visual or Physical Disabilities that Prevent Them from Reading Standard Print Interest Group
    • LSSP Universal Access Interest Group.

Below is a list of our members running for ALA Council  in the 2014 election. We encourage you to support our colleagues who share a commitment to diversity.

Many thanks to the Diversity Council reps and the respective membership coordinators and chairs for compiling the list!


Megan Drake

Chair, ALA Diversity Council



  • Denice C. Adkins
  • Mary Biblo
  • Vivian Bordeaux
  • Elizabeth Jean Brumfield
  • Tina Chan
  • Matthew P. Ciszek
  • Gerardo "Gary" Colmenar
  • Roberto C. Delgadillo
  • John C. DeSantis
  • Tyler Dzuba
  • Ed Garcia
  • Clem Guthro
  • Kathleen Hanselmann
  • Dora T.  Ho
  • Richard Huffine
  • Julius C. Jefferson Jr.
  • Xudong Jin
  • Em Claire Knowles
  • Charles E. Kratz
  • Chihfeng P. Lin
  • Rodney Eugene Lippard
  • Mike L. Marlin
  • Dale K. McNeill
  • Michael Miller
  • Jerome Offord, Jr.
  • Brenda Faye Pruitt-Annisette
  • Rhonda K. Puntney Gould
  • Ben Rodriguez
  • Daniella Smith


Louis Muoz's picture

I see some great colleagues there; good luck to all!

Candice Mack's picture

Good morning,

I'm not a candidate for ALA Council, but I am a candidate for YALSA President-Elect, 2014-2015. I am a past board member-at-large for APALA, a lifetime member of APALA, a current member of AILA, APALA, BCALA, and Reforma, a 2005 ALA Spectrum Scholar and a 2012 ALA Emerging Leader.  I'm also the project manager for the Los Angeles Public Library's partnership with Gale/Cengage and Career Online High School.

Best wishes,