Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Picture
Jane Rosario's picture

ALCTS Webinar: RDA: Staff Training, Implementation, and Monographic Workflow

Tags: webinar | 2014
When: 
Wednesday, March 19, 2014
1:00 pm to 2:00 pm, US/Central

*Apologies in advance for multiple postings.*

ALCTS Webinar: RDA: Staff Training, Implementation, and Monographic Workflow

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

All webinar sessions are one hour in length and begin at 11 am Pacific, 12 Mountain, 1pm Central, and 2pm Eastern time.

Description

This webinar will focus on describing the process of one academic library’s journey into adoption and integration of the Resource Description and Access (RDA) cataloging rules into the monographic copy cataloging workflows, following the adoption by the Library of Congress and other national libraries. The University of Illinois at Chicago Library took a very practical and functional approach to implementation and training. The webinar will cover:

  • Internal and external factors that affect implementation
  • Challenges of and practical solutions to being a single trainer at an institution
  • Statistical measurements of the initial workflow output

Learning Outcomes

Participants will:

  • Identify strategies for RDA implementation, training, and workflow
  • Comprehend one successful RDA monographic workflow implementation at an academic library
  • Gain an understanding of a successful training program for foundational FRBR and RDA concepts
  • Learn useful training tips and techniques for trainers of copy cataloging staff

Who Should Attend?

Cataloging managers and those who find themselves in a position of training non-librarian copy cataloging staff.

Presenter

Stephen Smith, Acquisitions Librarian at the University of Illinois at Chicago, has been a cataloger and catalog manager for more than two decades. He has trained and mentored more than fifty library school graduate assistants as catalogers and has taught numerous workshops on descriptive cataloging and authority control for library staff across the state of Illinois. Stephen produced an electronic interactive tutorial on authority control for the Illinois OCLC Users’ Group which won the LITA/Library Hi Tech award in 2002.

Date & Times

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Sessions are intended to last 1 hour, starting:

11 a.m. Pacific  |  12 p.m. Mountain  |  1 p.m. Central  |  2 p.m. Eastern

Fee ($USD)

Individual participants:

ALCTS Member . . . . . $43

Nonmember  . . . . . $59

International  . . . . . $43

Groups:

Applies to a group of people that will watch the webinar together from one access point.

Member group . . . . . $99

Nonmember group . . . . . $129

All webinars are recorded and the one-time fee includes unlimited access to the webinar recording. All registered attendees will receive the link to the recorded session so if you are unable to attend the webinar at the time it is presented, you will have the opportunity to listen to the recording at your convenience.

Technical Requirements

Computer with Internet access (high-speed connection is best) and media player software. Headphones recommended.

How to Register

To register, complete the online registration form or register by mail for the session you would like to attend.

Contact

For questions about registration, contact ALA Registration by calling 1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration@ala.org. For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 orjreese@ala.org.

*Presented by the ALCTS Continuing Education Committee.*