Warning message

ALA Connect User logins are disabled for a temporary "gray-out" period, to prevent new posts while we upgrade into the New Connect. This gray-out period will begin on March 26th, and the new site will be launched on April 25th.

Users can use Search to view public content. Logins will be reinstated and users can create new posts, upload files, etc. post launch.

Thank you for your patience in cooperation. Check out training resources and schedule at:

Or contact Julianna Kloeppel for training or Pam Akins with questions/concerns.
Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Jennifer Dorning (non-member)'s picture

John Sessions Memorial Award Deadline Extended, $1,000 Award for Winner

Nominations are still being accepted for the 2014 John Sessions Memorial Award offered by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA).


For the current award year, the winner will receive $1,000, made possible by RUSA.


Established in 1980, the award is named in honor of John Sessions, former American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) co-chair of the AFL-CIO/ALA Joint Committee on Library Service to Labor Groups.  The John Sessions Memorial Award recognizes a library or library system which has made a significant effort to work with the labor community and by doing so has brought recognition to the history and contribution of the labor movement to the development of the United States.


Such efforts may include outreach projects to local labor unions; establishment of, or significant expansion of, special labor collections; initiation of programs of special interest to the labor community; or other library activities that serve the labor community.


The 2014 award will presented at the RUSA Awards Reception during the ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada, June 26-July 1, 2014.  To nominate a library or organization, download and complete the nomination form (PDF format), and follow the submission instructions therein.


Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Laura Carscaddon, lcarscaddon1@gsu.edu, 404-413-2804.


The deadline for nominations has been extended to December 23, 2013.