Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Jennifer Dorning (non-member)'s picture

Nominations Open for the John Sessions Memorial Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2014 John Sessions Memorial Award offered by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA).

Established in 1980, the award is named in honor of John Sessions, former American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) co-chair of the AFL-CIO/ALA Joint Committee on Library Service to Labor Groups.  The John Sessions Memorial Award recognizes a library or library system which has made a significant effort to work with the labor community and by doing so has brought recognition to the history and contribution of the labor movement to the development of the United States.

Such efforts may include outreach projects to local labor unions; establishment of, or significant expansion of, special labor collections; initiation of programs of special interest to the labor community; or other library activities that serve the labor community.

The Labor Archives of Washington (University of Washington) was the 2013 recipient of the award.  The Labor Archives are notable for their work with the labor, university and local community. Work with local schools has helped encourage the teaching of labor history in the classroom. The Labor Archives also host online and traveling exhibits that focus on labor history, particularly that of the Pacific Northwest.  

The award committee selected the Center for its efforts to educate the community on the accomplishments of labor through its public programs, publications, exhibitions, and oral history project.  These resources and the Center's outreach efforts illustrate their commitment to preserving and highlighting the history of labor. 

The 2014 award will presented at the RUSA Awards Reception during the ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada, June 26-July 1, 2014.  To nominate a library or organization, download and complete the nomination form (PDF format), and follow the submission instructions therein.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Laura Carscaddon, lcarscaddon1@gsu.edu, 404-413-2804.

The deadline for nominations is December 15.