Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Picture
Sherri Vanyek's picture

ALA 2014 Conference Bundle Registration Accessibility Issues --

FYI, Mary Ghikas just sent this email message out. 

To:         Mike Marlin 

               Simon Healey

               Susan Hornung - shornung@ala.org

CC:         Sherri Vanyek, svanyek@ala.org; Louise Gruenberg (lgruenberg@ala.org), Jenny Levine (jlevine@ala.org), Paul Graller (pgraller@ala.org), Alicia Babcock (ababcock@ala.org), Keith Fiels (kfiels@ala.org)

 

om:    Mary W. Ghikas, mghikas@ala.org

2014 ALA Bundle Registration

We are opening bundle registration (including housing reservations) for the 2014 ALA Midwinter and Annual meetings on Monday, September 9.  We will be using the same registration and housing companies that were used for the 2013 ALA Annual conference. While some issues have been addressed, in bringing up the systems, we have identified some remaining issues related to accessibility and I wanted to make you aware of the issues, our process for addressing them and the interim work-around. 

(1)    There are still some remaining accessibility issues with the registration site itself.  Louise Gruenberg has done extensive usability testing; we have a list of problems that the vendor is addressing.  We do not believe they will all have been satisfactorily addressed by Monday morning, but they will be continuing to work on them.  A phone number to call if you encounter a problem is on the site and on the ALA 2014 Midwinter Conference website. The number is also included at the end of this message, for your convenience.  We ask that if you encounter a problem, you also let us know; the most helpful step would be to send a brief email to Louise Gruenberg (lgruenberg@ala.org) telling her about the issue and the assistive device in use.

(2)    The housing software we will be using is a new system and we have identified accessibility issues with it. The housing vendor is still addressing these issues, and the timeline for fixing them extends into the end of October.

As a result, a message at the end of registration will direct individuals using screen readers to call the phone number provided to complete the housing reservation process.  Again, that number is also at the end of this message, for your convenience.

We are contacting you in advance because (1) we do not want you surprised , (2) we need your assistance in working through this both by making colleagues who use assistive technologies aware of the problem and by communicating directly with us so we can relay this information to our vendor’s development team.  Thank you for your assistance and your patience.   Please feel free to contact me at any point – 800-545-2433 x2518.  Sherri Vanyek, Louise Gruenberg and Jenny Levine in ALA ITTS are copied on this message, as are Paul Graller and Alicia Babcock in ALA Conference Services.

Telephone numbers:     For problems with registration – 866-513-0760

For problems with housing - 800-584-9047

mg

Mary W. Ghikas

Senior Associate Executive Director, ALA

312-280-2518

mghikas@ala.org