Warning message

ALA Connect User logins are disabled for a temporary "gray-out" period, to prevent new posts while we upgrade into the New Connect. This gray-out period will begin on March 26th, and the new site will be launched on April 25th.

Users can use Search to view public content. Logins will be reinstated and users can create new posts, upload files, etc. post launch.

Thank you for your patience in cooperation. Check out training resources and schedule at:

Or contact Julianna Kloeppel for training or Pam Akins with questions/concerns.
Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Robert Graziano's picture

Over the Rainbow (OTR) 2013 ALA Annual Committee Report

The aim of the Over the Rainbow (OTR) Project has been to further the mission of the GLBTRT by promoting the improved quality and accessibility of GLBTQ literature through the provision for adult readers of an annual annotated bibliography of books.

During ALA Midwinter Conference in Seattle, the 2013 Over the Rainbow Project book list featured 84 titles published between July, 2012 and December, 2013.

In our fourth year, we continue to provide GLBTQ readers and the general public with guidance in selecting commendable books that reflect the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered experience and communities.

During February of this year, our roster of jurors was finalized.  We are proud of the diversity and dedication of our jurors.   The current committee members are: Robert Graziano (Chair), Chicago, IL; Kelly McElroy (Chair-Elect), Iowa City, IA; Danielle Pollock (Immediate Past Chair, non-voting member), Albuquerque, NM; David Combe, Ventura, CA; Annaliese Fidgeon, Northridge, CA; Jessica Jones, Santa Fe, NM; Louis Munoz, Jr., Brooklyn, NY; Caroline Nappo, Champaign, IL; Robert Ridinger, De Kalb, IL; and Nel Ward, Newport, OR.

The committee members continue to identify, acquire, read, and evaluate potential works for the Over the Rainbow list. We’ve seen a very positive response from publishers and authors, many of whom are now familiar with our list from previous years, and we wish to thank them for their support.

As of May, 2013, 93 titles have been nominated by at least one member of the committee for consideration for this year’s list.

Respectively submitted,

Robert Graziano