Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Suggestion
Jennifer Hopwood's picture

LibraryBox Webinar

I saw this posted on the learnrt list-serv and thought it might interest ALSC people. Can you imagine giving a kid a device that they can have all of those great children's classics on? Even better, have them build their own!

 

Title:  LibraryBox: Portable Private Digital Distribution

Presenter:  Jason Griffey

Format:  Webinar

DateTuesday, June 4, 2013

Start Time:         

12 Noon Pacific

1PM Mountain

2PM Central

3PM Eastern

For more information and to participate in theDATEwebinar, go tohttp://infopeople.org/training/librarybox.

·         Looking for an inexpensive way to distribute digital materials to non-library locations and enhance your traditional library services?

·         Have someone on your staff or a volunteer who likes to tinker with gadgets?

·          LibraryBox is an open source project designed to allow for the distribution of digital materials (books, music, movies, datasets) in the absence of reliable Internet connectivity. The hardware that LibraryBox uses is very inexpensive ($35) and the code is freely available, making it an attractive option for outreach and service to underserved areas for libraries.

 

 LibraryBox is a key that can unlock many possibilities for your services. This webinar will discuss how you can build your own LibraryBox, use-cases (systems to accomplish a particular goal), the development of the project from its beginnings, and where it’s headed in the future.

 

 At the end of this one-hour webinar, participants will:

 

·         Understand the scope of the LibraryBox Project and why it is beneficial to libraries and their customers.

 

·         Understand “use cases” and how they apply for LibraryBox for different types of libraries.

 

·         Know how to build a basic LibraryBox of their own.

 

This webinar will be of interest to any library or librarian who is interested in digital distribution of materials to non-library locations.

Webinars are free of charge, you can pre-register by clicking on the Join Webinar button now or go directly to the webinar by clicking on Join Webinar within 30 of the start of the event. If you pre-registered you will receive an email with login link and a reminder email the day before the event. If you did not preregister and you can register in the 30 minutes prior to the event and directly enter.

 

If you are unable to attend the live event, you can access the archived version the day following the webinar.  Check our archive listing at:  http://infopeople.org/training/view/webinar/archived